We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Saloon - CLOSED

Black Bear Saloon
261 Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
203.324.4448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
new york,ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I went to watch the Giant game ,asked that the game be put on the Tv in front of me the waitress went to the manager who then said no. The guy next to me who came in after me got confrontational about my request.
They would not change the TV and didn't care that I was canceling my food order, I left and happily went to BobbyV's.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice employees, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Food was a little overpriced, but okay. The turkey burger was very good. The mac and cheese was very bland. The servers were extremely nice and helpful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandello del Lario, Lombardia, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a nice dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The menu is not surprising, although the soup of the day was. A tomato basil soup that tasted very lemony- we enjoyed it. As for the rest of our dinner, we were happy with the portions and the food- just what we expected.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is still great but my problem is that the owner also owns the separate resteraurant in the back. So they've taken all the barbecue stuff off the Black Bear Menu and put it on the Q menu. The staff was decent, and it's right in the middle of everything!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

While not exceptional the black bear is a good place to grab a burger while sitting at gbe bar. Service is good and friendly. I have eaten there a number of times and I have not been disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.