We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Stamford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sylvium

Cafe Sylvium
371 Shippan Avenue, Stamford, CT 06902
203-324-1651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 390 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in Stamford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the place for excellent food at reasonable prices. Outstanding service is a bonus. The branzino is delectable. The gnact gnact pasta is also delicious. I love the bread and white bean salad that are brought to your table immediately. All the servers are terrific. They know the menu and move things along quickly and politely. To avoid a long wait, come before 6 p.m. or after 8:45 p.m. on weekends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our first visit to Cafe Sylvium although we had heard great reviews from many of our friends. The wait for a table was well worth it - we were a party of four and all of our dinner selections were excellently prepared. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. We will certainly return again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very fresh, unpretentious food. Huge glasses of wine. Not rushed. A local favorite for family dinners.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never a Bad Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant. It is small, and sometimes noisy, but the service and quality of food is excellent. This is a "keeper!"

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simple, elegant Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have eaten here more than 100 times over the last 8 years. I bring a lot of people here who come back on their own often. I am especially attached to the simple fish dishes, pasta dishes and specials.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sylvium also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Sylvium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sylvium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.