We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, disinterested wait staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sylvium

Cafe Sylvium
371 Shippan Avenue, Stamford, CT 06902
203-324-1651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 395 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good food, disinterested wait staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The food was simple and very tasty. The chef is excellent. The place is basically just someone's house turned into a restaurant but it's sort of cozy and not too bad. We were pretty packed in but it wasn't awful. If your interested in quiet talk you might look elsewhere as i had a difficult time hearing my guests due to the noise.

The wait staff was strange. They did their jobs but they absolutely minimized their time discussing anything with us and looked around while waiting on us rather than looking at us while we ordered. It was almost to say I'm off in a couple of hours, hurry up. For example, the waiter came to our table and introduced herself by saying "specials are on the last page, i'll be right back" and she walked away. We couldn't even ask her a question or order drinks or whatever. Again, they weren't exactly rude, but they certainly weren't friendly either. Sort of like being waited on by your Aunt Betty and she just got done with an argument with Uncle Phil.

I'll go back for the food however.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This gem has a menu with so many choices and, in my experience, they are all delicious. For a place to go to enjoy really well prepared food, go no further. The place is crowded and busy but you can converse with your friends. Parking space is limited so continue south to the next large lot, where there is always space.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellant Italian food full if local people!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

An excellent gem of a restaurant with awesome food and a great atmosphere. Everything we had was great. Especially loves the clams casino and the lasagna.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Food in Stamford, CT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I had read some reviews of Cafe Sylvium online and they were all pretty positive. So, after we drove up to Stamford on Friday night, I checked their website and was disappointed to see that they don't accept reservations on Fridays or Saturdays for parties less than 2. After some discussion, we decided to take our chance that we could get a table. We got there around 9:00pm and waited for a table about 15 minutes. While waiting, I asked a friendly couple a bit about the restaurant and they had nothing but rave reviews for it, even going so far as to say it was the "best Italian food in Stamford". We were seated and ordered an appetizer of the calamari, which was fantastic! It was lightly-breaded and the breading had an amazing taste that just makes a great start to dinner. For entrees, we ordered the cheese ravioli and the red snapper (onions, olives, capers, basil & marinara sauce). The ravioli was definitely handmade. The pasta had a texture that only comes with it being freshly handmade. The red snapper was very unique! It had a lot of flavor and the fish itself was large portioned and delicious. It came with a side of broccoli rabe and sliced potatoes. We got a glass of the house red and white wines, which paired very well with the entrees. Finally, we wrapped up the evening with the "Coppa Profiterol" - vanilla and chocolate ice cream with vanilla ice cream-filled cream puffs - and a lemon cream pie, I believe, which doesn't seem to appear on their website's desserts menu. The Coppa Profiterol was absolutely fabulous. The ice cream was better than your garden variety ice cream and the cream puffs were an excellent pair with it. The lemon cream pie was also amazing, as it was topped with pine nuts - a favorite of mine. All in all, this restaurant was a top-notch food experience and reasonably-priced, as well. It's not cheap, but certainly not a break-the-bank trip. I would venture to say that, whatever you end up paying, it was well worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Wine List”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Very nice wine list at great prices!! Food is average to above average at a good price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sylvium also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Sylvium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sylvium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.