We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, nice place - good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
230 Tresser Blvd, Ste H003, Stamford, CT 06901-3526
203-967-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 387 restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: When seeking an exceptional dining experience, Stamfordites need look no further than their own backyard. At The Capital Grille in Stamford Town Center, dry aged steaks and 20 year-old Scotch fortify Fortune 500 power brokers and power shoppers alike, while refreshing cocktails and irresistible appetizers delight patrons of the Palace Theatre and Rich Forum. Clearly, distinctive dining is not reserved for that larger city down the road. As a charming young lady once said, there's no place like home.
new england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As expected, nice place - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed perfectly prepared scallops on a bed of rice, corn and fresh herbs sprinkled with some cilantro - it was delicious! Nice place, excellent server: Jeremy, classy and attentive. I'd visit again if I'm in town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    99
    28
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother - I agree with a similar November review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went as a couple on a Sunday night. The waiter seemed robotic with no personality which I can deal with if the food is o.k. Ordered the Delmonico steak medium and chicken breast entrees. The steak came very rare. I sent it back and the manager did walk by and apologized. He then offered a side dish. The steak came out a while later and as I cut into it, noticied that it was 50% fat (no joke). This steak made Outback look like Ruth Chris or Mortons. The waiter stated "well you already sent it back once, what can I do and that he described it as marblized (another word for a large amount of fat)." The manager again walked by and quickly stated that he would not charge for the steak. I was extremely surprised that they would even serve a piece of meat like that. As it turned out the chicken was also a little dry but my wife did not want to bring up another complaint after addressing this one. I commend the manager for trying his best but the rest of the experience was sub par for any restaurant especially one that charges these prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stay away from the seafood here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Upper level steak house with some seafood offerings that were disappointing....expensive and small portions of scallops....tiny lobster tail with steak combo and special oysters that were not even fully freed from their shell when served. I really liked the free tastes of special alcoholic drinks but the price of the meal vs quality/quantity was a bit disappointing....if you want a really good steak and not looking for a deal...you will enjoy Capital Grill....but everything is ala carte and avoid the seafood..not close to being worth the $$

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grezt Steakhouse in Stamford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff. When we returned, asked for same waiter who remembered what our grandson liked and took care of the young man. Made suggestions to our guests, and added to the evening.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Steak perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Capital Grille in Stamford is an excellent steakhouse. From the moment you walk in, until the moment you leave you enjoy the entire experience. My wife and I had a reservation for 8 PM and when we arrived early we were seated with no problem. Our server was very quick and polite. We ordered drinks which came pretty quickly and were strong (which is a good thing really). We had not eaten lunch in anticipation of a large dinner and I am glad we did. We ordered two Wedge salads which where crisp, flavorful, and refreshing. Next came the main course. We both ordered filet mignon medium. Both steaks were cooked perfectly. The meat was very tender, juicy, and flavorful. They were exactly what you would expect from a dry aged prime cut of beef. The sides we ordered were lobster mac 'n cheese, and the creamed spinach. Both of which we have had before at other locations and they were delicious as always. Having been to CG in Chicago, Manhattan NY, Paramus NJ, and now in Stamford CT, I would have to say CG has the steakhouse experience down. I have had consistently excellent meals at every location. If you are looking for a great steakhouse experience I would absolutely recommend Capital Grille, and certainly the Stamford CT location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.