We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a casual meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner). Wonderful pastries!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Athena Diner
3350 Post Rd, Southport, CT 06890-1383
203-259-0603
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good for a casual meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner). Wonderful pastries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This diner on Post Road is great for a casual meal. The menu is large and varied, service good, prices reasoable. I visit Southport about once a year and stop in for one of the glorious pastries even if I don't have time to enjoy a meal here. I believe they also offer carryout. Appears to be locally owned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    9
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

excellent food at a fair price and open 24/7. The staff is friendly even at 2am. I usually eat here at least once a month and have never had a bad experience

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad Breakfast!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Don't bother-terrible service and mediocre food-very disappointing breakfast! Strange for a diner to be like this in the northeast

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favorite diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Came here for the first time this week and can say honestly that it's better than Sherwood. It's much more quiet and the service is quicker. The menu is vast, much more diverse than Sherwood.(pictures included). Much more spacious diner. 5-5 stars!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I would always have the best breakfast here; it is a great diner and I love it! Everybody that I take here always is impressed!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Diner also viewed

 
Southport, CT
Southport, CT
 

Been to Athena Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.