We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussels to Die For” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Goose

Gray Goose
246 Old Post Rd, Southport, CT 06890
(203) 292-8779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Mussels to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The mussels diablo were FABULOUS and the wedge salad was a great compliment. Save room for dessert...it was TOO good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great if you are under 30 years old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really cute spot. No reservations accepted. We waited overcan hour for a table and no reason we should have. It's a great spot. However, obvious our middle aged group was not their crowd.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A bar with a small restarant attached”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Food was great and worth a trip across the street from the hotel if you're staying there, but it is a "local" visited by everyone who knows everyone else there--not a bad thing, but there is no separation between the bar (and its stools & standing area) and the tables where you'd eat. The noise is incredible! There is some outside seating but it was 95+ that day so we couldn't really do that...we finished up quickly and left as we couldn't even hear each other talk across a 18 inch table. We remember we enjoyed the food but the din spoiled the rest of the experience. I'm very glad the people who live in Southport have this place to have fun in, but think I'd give it a pass next time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A new pleasure the Old Post Road in Southport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not sure what was better, the food or the service. Both are important to me and both were great. It was a muggy night so we ate in the comfortably cool dining room. This was a first visit for all and we orderd what looked good to us: Steak and Shrimp, Scallops, Crispy Szechuan Shrimp and Calamari and Chicken Trafungi. Each was prepared consistent with our high expectations. We shared a lot and all were pleased. The desserts were terrific, particularly the Warm Apple Tart - best ever. Service was five-star - very attentive. We will be going back again and recommend it to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Great Neighborhood Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Celebrated a big event with friends. Bar was SRO with lots of friendlies. No draft beer and boring bottle selection. Lots of wines by the glass. Atmosphere is casual/sophisticated. Food was marvelous. Mussels in red sauce and lobster sandwich got raves. Solid music on the front porch. Lots of happy faces, I;ll be back...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Goose also viewed

 

Been to Gray Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Goose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.