We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a diner in wood garb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint's Restaurant and Catering

Saint's Restaurant and Catering
1248 Queen Street, Southington, CT 06489-1236
860-747-0566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 162 Restaurants in Southington
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Southern California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Really a diner in wood garb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went in for lunch, attracted by the full parking lot. Menu is actually pretty broad, ranging from chili dogs to pulled pork sandwiches. Tried the $ 3. chili dog, which came with the local style brown "meat sauce" on top. Frankly, the Costco hot dogs are better and a lot cheaper to boot. Wife's chicken sandwich was kinda pricey at $4.+, came on a kaiser roll with no sides. Lunch was $16 with two soft drinks and 2 sides.

The place was filled with what appeared to be locals, but there are better choices around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Their breakfast is wonderful and very cheap. A cup of coffee comes with most meals and the food is great. Saints is also known for their hot dogs. Very good!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southingtom
2 reviews
“Go back in time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Food was dry cold, over cooked, Cheeseburger with no cheese! and I went 15min early. Maybe they should go back in time and find out how the founders did so well and how they got their reputation start fresh! This is not the place my in-laws bragged about for years!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant a huge step above fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My wife, 2 kids and I dined at Saint's when stopping through Southington on our way to Maine. Not entirely sure what to expect (the photo on the website doesn't do it justice), we were immediately pleased upon seeing the neon sign in the (crowded) parking lot and were lucky to grab a booth for four when we arrived. My wife had the chili-slaw dog, kids had chicken fingers, I went with the philly cheesteak (a LEGIT philly cheesesteak). Chili sauce was delicious, portions were nicely sized. Deserts were just okay - brownie sundae and lemon merangue pie were better than my carrot cake - so I'd skip that and just order an extra chili dog.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
520 helpful votes 520 helpful votes
“Ok Food and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I eat at Saint's 4-5 times a year, including lunch today, when I drive Rte. 10 from I-84 to Avon. The family who owns it is very nice, but some of the wait staff leaves something to be desired. Much of the food is average - hot dogs lack the true snap that first class CT dogs have. Burgers are unexceptional. Specials like meatloaf really shine. Broasted chicken hits the spot. Prices are in line. It just seems to me that if one is not a regular there, you really are not made to feel welcome.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint's Restaurant and Catering also viewed

Milldale, Southington
Plantsville, Southington
 
Plantsville, Southington
 

Been to Saint's Restaurant and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint's Restaurant and Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.