We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony Jack's Woodfire Grille

Anthony Jack's Woodfire Grille
30 Center St, Southington, CT 06489-3105
860-426-1487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Southington
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Heard so much about Anthony Jack's, could not wait to he my birthday dinner here. Kind of dark and old fashioned inside and the food was good, just not great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    14
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, CT
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It has been said that "life is short, so eat dessert first!' and this may hold very true when it comes to dining at Anthony Jack's! After a delicious meal of garlic crusted tilapia with herb rice and string beans, I chose to "save a little room" for dessert. My partner and I chose "Paula's Coconut-Pecan" cake and what a choice it was! (Unless you have a sweet tooth, ask them to leave off the caramel sauce, or ask them for "just a smidgen" of it) It is delicious and complimented the meal very well. It is indeed worth a drive there and the area is quiet, quaint and enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best hamburger I've had in a long time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Went for lunch with my husband. I do not eat hamburgers very often, so when I do I like it to be worth it. This hamburger did not disappoint. I loved that it was an irregular shape, indicating that it was hand made. I had it plain, just let.tom.and onion. It was delicious....I could smell the applewood on the meat. It was served with a side of french fries and salad...all for $8.00! My husband had the shaved steak sandwich, which he had with sweet potato fries (additional $1) and a side salad also. The sweet potato fries were better than the traditional fries. Whenever I am in the mood for my occasional hamburger, I will certainly think of getting it here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Southington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I love everything about Anthony Jack's! It's one of my favorite restaurants. Great food at reasonable prices in a great atmosphere!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

we go here for lunch a couple times a week... pecan chicken or pecan pork are incredible.. prices can not be beat

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony Jack's Woodfire Grille also viewed

 

Been to Anthony Jack's Woodfire Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony Jack's Woodfire Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.