We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working Hard to Please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Southington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Southington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   120 Laning St, I-84, Exit 32, Southington, CT 06489   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Southington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Working Hard to Please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a very pleasant one night stay here. Enjoyed the outdoor pool on a very unseasonably warm New England day. There were fresh baked cookies in the lobby - a welcome treat after a long day of driving. All staff were cheerful and working hard to give the best customer service possible. We had a problem with our A/C unit and they addressed it immediately. Breakfast was excellent. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
14
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-July 2013 while visiting Lake Compounce Amusement Park. It was very close to the park and Interstate 84, but the room was old and not updated. The walls are thin and you hear everything in the hallway. The room is very small, has double beds and a nice wide-screen HD TV. The bathroom is very small. There is a very small pool on the left side of the hotel with limited chairs. You can park in the back with direct access to the 2nd floor. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very good with several hot foods, cereals, bagels, muffins, fruit, etc. The price was reasonable but the rooms were disappointing for Holiday Inn. I don't think I would stay here again unless they update the hotel rooms.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have access to the back parking lot without taking an elevator or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southington, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I was very pleased to read that you found our associates pleasant, our breakfast solid and our hotel priced reasonably among some additional compliments. I’d also like to note that the Room Tip you left will be very helpful for the TripAdvisor readers.

Unfortunately, it appears that we missed the mark regarding your expectations related to our room condition and I want to convey to you and those evaluating our hotel on TripAdvisor that we use these comments to make the hotel better every day. Your review will be shared with our teams as they evaluate updates to our facility. In the meantime, our associates are working meticulously to keep all our guestrooms and public areas clean and do whatever it takes to provide our guests with the best hospitality in the area.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do hope you will return to our location in the future.

Rosemary Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My son and I stayed for three days. We lived in Southington for a long time until last year and know the area well. We were looking for a moderately priced place to stay. I wasn't expecting much but wow what a great find! It was clean for sure. I'm very sensitive to smells. Hotels are known for using all kinds of deodorizers to mask odors. This place just smelled good. The free breakfast in the morning was imaginative- not your usual bagels and waffle maker. They had fresh hot cinnamon rolls, and (according to my son) the coolest automatic pancake maker. Fresh hot cookies on the counter at check in too.

The two cleverest things? The pillows had big labels on their ends marked "soft" and "firm". They also had installed these black boxes on the nightstand. The box had several regular electric outlets plus a couple of USB charging sockets. Wow! No more climbing behind the nightstand to plug you chargeable stuff in! Never having seen anything like these, I had to ask about them at the front desk. They said, "we were worried that there wasn't enough places for our customers to plug in their stuff!" Can you imagine? They were worried about us!!!??

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were traveling to Connecticut to go to Lake Compounce and just get away for a couple nights. It was perfect for us. We had room 104 which was a King size bed and a sofa. It was very spacious and there was alot of space for your luggage (if you need alot) The bath tub was regular size but you could put it on as a jacuzzi which was relaxing after the drive to CT. They had free breakfast every morning from 6am-10am which was very nice to have. They had eggs,muffins,bagels,toast,cereal all the basic things. It was good to have. Lake compounce was very local about 5miles away from the hotel. It is in a very convienent location. There are a lot of resturaunts and stores on the main road that the hotel is off of. We asked the lady at the front desk for a reccomendation for a place to have dinner for both nights we were there. Her choices were both excellent! JD Homers which is right at the bottom of the hill from the hotel was fabulous. It is a sports bar type place. The burgers were really good and everything was cooked perfect. You also have the option to get as much fries as you want. The second night we went to J Timothys which was down the street into Plainville,CT. It was also amazing. The service and food were all very good. Overall I would stay at this location again. Very clean,Free Wifi,Free breakfast,good size room,what else do you need!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was a little disappointed by this property. Normally we stay at the Hampton Inn but the closest one was booked. We figured that the Holiday Inn would be the next best thing. It was not that clean and the beds felt like we were sleeping on bricks.

Room Tip: Sorry, I just don't have any. The young lady in front was very nice and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southington, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear vglindsey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel and the beds in your room fell below your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As Southington CT is fairly central for me in CT when I am there on business. I do make a point to stay at HI's and favor HI Express because of the breakfast included. As I have now stayed at this location several times and would say overall they are one of the better ones because of their detail to satisfaction especially with Rosemary and her staff. I will not saw it has been perfect but how I guage my expereince is what they do when there are issues and they have done well to correct any issue I have had. The only thing that still needs improvement is the OJ... it is terrible but all else meets expectations for breakfast as the location is great, located right off 84 and plenty of restaurants and access nearby to start and end the business day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were traveling to Connecticut and a relative recommended The Holiday Inn Express in Southington for an overnight stay. We made reservations a few days earlier and when we checked in ‘the room was ready and available’. The hotel is situated off I84 in the central part of the state, North of Waterbury, and has nice surroundings. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, quite spacious with a very comfortable king-size bed and a spotless bathroom. Breakfast was included (serve yourself in the lobby), with many selections and the food was good. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would stay there again if we’re ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southington

Address: 120 Laning St, I-84, Exit 32, Southington, CT 06489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Southington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Southington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Southington, Connecticut! Our hotel is located directly off I-84 at exit 32, in the heart of Southington. Our newly renovated hotel is only minutes from the ESPN headquarters, General Electric, Trumpf, BAE Systems, as well as Connecticut's capital, Hartford. Enjoy Lake Compounce, New England's Family Theme Park just minutes away from the hotel. Lake Compounce has something to offer for everyone, from thrill rides to water slides, fabulous food, & top notch entertainment. Just a short drive away you can experience Westfarms Mall and Blue Black Square, which offers a variety of shops and unique restaurants. We would love to be the host of your next meeting. We offer meeting space which can accommodate up to 80 people. For business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express has what it takes to offer 100% satisfactory service. We offer favorite foods at our 24-hour market, free high-speed Internet access to connect with work and home, and of course, a complimentary hot breakfast in the morning to start your day off right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southington Hotel Southington
Holiday Inn Southington
Southington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Southington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.