We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somewhere In Bangkok

Somewhere In Bangkok
1103 Queen St, Southington, CT 06489-1266
860-479-9111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 162 Restaurants in Southington
Cuisines: Thai
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/somewhere-in-bangkok-southington
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/somewhere-in-bangkok-southington
Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, nice decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was the first time eating Thai food and it was delicious. You can bring you own wine which we did. The restaurant is very small but nicely decorated. The parking lot was very small. It seemed like more people came for take out than dine in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Went for first time and loved it. Best Thai good I've had yet! Had the Chicken Padthai, shrimp in blanket, and chicken fried dumplings. Everything was excellent. Will definitely be heading back in near future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I usually write a review on the food but I will also say something about the ladies room! They said the kitchen is as good as the bathroom! Well I have to say they have the best ladies room I have ever been too. It is clean and the decor is great. The designer really paid great attention to details! Love those little stones on the sink. But that is just the icing on the cake. The food is definitely to die for. Most thai restaurants catered to American taste buds. That means the food is a little bland. Not at Somewhere in Bangkok! They definitely let the true thai food taste come out. The result, best tasting Thai food I ever had! Doesn't matter what you ordered. Order any of your favorite Thai food and you won't be disappointed! I ordered the tofu panang curry and I must say it is the best panang curry I ever had! If you are lucky, you might be served by the best waitress in town. She is the most Asian blonde person I know. For a white gal , she definitely know her Thai food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Small restaurant that does a lot of takeout. The service was very slow because the server was busy doing takeout orders. We never did get the tea we ordered. The Tom Yum Khoong soup was good as was the red curry. The chicken got mad tasted like it was deep fried rather than stir fried and was very greasy. The flavors are suited to an American palate. Certainly not close to the best Thai I have ever had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good alternative for business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was staying in Southington before going to NY

This is a good change from the rest of the chains on RT 10

A good variety of offerings and satisfactory portions

Warning no liquor liscence

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somewhere In Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Somewhere In Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somewhere In Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.