We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Southbury

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Southbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Southbury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1284 Strongtown Road, Southbury, CT 06488   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Southbury
NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had an excellent overnight stay! Everything was clean, well kept and attractive. The staff were extremely friendly and polite and accommodating! Everything was taken care of with a smile and upmost professionalism. The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful and dinner at the arrowhead was DELICIOUS! Overall an excellent experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and for sharing with us how great of a stay you’ve had. I am very pleased to hear that our staff provided such wonderful service and that you enjoyed our restaurant. I agree that our chefs have been exceeding everyone’s expectations, creating delicious meals for our guests. We look forward to welcoming back to the Crowne Plaza Southbury when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    32
    14
    7
See reviews for
40
27
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've traveled to many states and countries over the last 15 years, and I have stayed at many hotels. Some barely meet my minimum requirements, and some are loaded with high end counters, designer rooms, and fancy gimmicks—but they are still just rooms—sterile rooms. The Crowne Plaza has something extra, it has a personality all of its own. I came to realize that this extra something is the staff. I've seen the same faces for years—it’s like being invited into a local Connecticut “surrogate” family. From the competent and delightful guest services manager, the friendly demeanor of the front desk staff, the genial maintenance and cleaning crew, to the cordial restaurant and the hotel manager. They will all stop and chat with you, and put a smile on your face; that makes the bed away from home, a home away from home. I am certainly looking forward to my next stay there this coming June.
As an extra note, and as an avid runner, there is a high school track (rubber) open to the public just behind the hotel. It is literally a 2 minute walk. Keep up the good work guys.
P.S. The beds and pillows are so comfy. It made me realize I need a new bed and pillow!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Daryl,
It was a pleasure having you stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza Southbury for the past few months. Your review put a smile on my face and am pretty certain that it will make all the staff happy knowing that they were able to make each one of your stays a memorable one. So thank you for your sweet comments and hope to see you sooner than expected.

Zineb El Alaoui, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time, both stays were very nice. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the hotel is clean and in a great location right off I-84. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, although they will provide you with a fridge if you request one. I knew from other reviewers to request a room not on the highway side, so my room was quiet and I had no problems. The rates were much higher this year than last year, so I wasn't too pleased about that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that your experience at the Crowne Plaza was so positive and we are glad you found our staff very friendly and accommodating. Our goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and to gain their loyalty and I thank you for choosing us for the second time while in Southbury CT. We invite you to join us again when your travels bring you back to our area so we can wow you again as we did during your previous stays.

Zineb El Alaoui
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unfortunately, the hotel failed to control the wild partying going on all night from 3 different events taking place. The guests were underage, yelling between rooms and drunk. Rooms could use a good cleaning. Staff friendly and helpful but failed to provide results. TV reception and channel options poor, no movies.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is full of rooms that allow smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience in our hotel. We regret to hear that you were not happy during your visit. We did indeed have a party that weekend however, there were managers on duty that night who made effective fast decisions to ensure the safety of our guests and to ensure that each one of our guests gets a good night sleep in our new comfortable beddings. The Police were called and arrived to the property in less than 5 min since their station is located one exit away from us, and they escorted the loud party out of our building making the atmosphere go back to the smooth quiet one.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience not having on demand movies may have caused you. I know sometimes that could be a bonus for our travelers, but unfortunately we are in the process of switching providers at this moment. We will soon have plenty of channels to choose from and a better reception.
Again, my sincerest apologies for not being able to deliver the gracious service we are known for and hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Zineb El Alaoui
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Zineb and Jordan are hands down two of the best... Warm, friendly and personable are just a few words to describe them. always greeted with a smile! the hotel is fantastic and rooms are always clean inviting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your sweet caring review. Comments such as yours put a smile on our faces and make us want to continually deliver more and go above and beyond to accommodate our guests. It was such a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza. We hope to see you soon.

Jordan A.
Guest Services Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The front desk staff was welcoming and hospitable. The room was clean and well appointed. My kids loved the pool and the pool hours were terrific. Overall this was a great experience. I have stayed in many hotels and I really appreciate great customer service. I would definitely stay again, no question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on our Tripadvisor page. We are very pleased to hear your experience at the Crowne Plaza Southbury was so positive. We are glad you and your family were able to enjoy the pool and that our Front Desk staff was generous and hospitable exceeding your customer service expectations.
Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Zineb El Alaoui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at this Crowne Plaza ever since I started working in CT. From day one I have been treated like a king. I am always greeted when I walk in, and my paperwork is always ready immediately. The front desk manager, Zineb, is extremely efficient and accomodating and has trained her front desk personnel to be equally efficient.

While this Crowne Plaza is not as fancy as the ones in NYC and Boston, the personal attention I receive well makes up for the fanciness of the big city Crownes where the attention is mostly just businesslike.

I have eaten in this Crowne many times, the food is well portioned, the service is friendly and the bar is well stocked.

I believe, overall, the General Manager has trained his staff to be courteous, friendly and efficient. I couldn't ask to be trated better, even when compared to my own family. My thanks to everyone who works here.

Room Tip: All the rooms have new amazing pillows which, in my opinion, make for a very nice sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Southbury, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear RobertD297,

I thank you very much for electing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Southbury while in CT and I humbly appreciate your candid comments about our staff, our property and our services. Each one of our staff takes pride in their respective roles providing and maintaining the highest level of gracious service and I am very pleased to hear that we were successful delivering that personal attention in many levels.
The new pillows are indeed very comfortable and the new bedding gives the room and extra cozy atmosphere. Glad you got to try our Arrowhead restaurant and found it to be fantastic. Take a look at our new restaurant menu which has a vast variety of delicious items to choose from.
Again, thank you for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you back to The Crowne Plaza Southbury since it is your home away from home.

Zineb El Alaoui,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Southbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Southbury

Address: 1284 Strongtown Road, Southbury, CT 06488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Southbury 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Hotel Southbury, 'The Place To Meet' . Our hotel is located in the Litchfield Hills of beautiful central Connecticut, some of our corporate neighbors are IBM, Chemtura, Boehringer-Ingelheim, General Electric, Timex, Waterbury Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Nearby attractions for all ages include Quassapaug Amusement Park, Lake Compouce, Timex Museum, NE Railroad Museum, Golden Age Trucking Museum, Palace Theatre, Danbury Mall, Oxford Greens Golf Course, Woodbury Ski and many quaint antique shops. We are a full service hotel serving a full hot and cold breakfast buffet and a la cart menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner in our Arrowhead Restaurant and Lounge. The Crowne Plaza - Southbury boasts 13,000 square feet of flexible and beautifully appointed meeting space that includes 2 tastefully decorated grand ballrooms that accommodate 50 to 400 people, 2 traditional boardrooms and up to 13 total breakout rooms. We are truly the 'Place to Meet' for corporate meetings, weddings, anniversary parties, birthday parties or Bat/Bar Mitzvahs. We have ample complimentary parking, complimentary wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and offer complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby daily. Our guest will get a workout in our fitness area or enjoy a dip in our indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Southbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Southbury Hotel Southbury
Southbury Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Southbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.