We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect New England Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   782 Main Street North, Southbury, CT 06488   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Southbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect New England Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Ed & Christine are the perfect hosts. This warm, cozy & inviting B&B will take away all your worries & send you into a state of calmness and peacefulness.

The food was prepared to perfection and presented as masterpieces. They were the hosts for our first Women's Retreat and were an intergral part of its success.

When you are looking for a home away from home...this inn is the place for you! I guarantee it!

  • Liked — The 2 parlors - one with a beautiful fireplace
  • Disliked — Wish the weather was warmer so we could have enjoyed the terrace
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
34
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

My husband and I wanted a quick romantic getaway without our kids. We found the Cornucopia at Oldfield on line and knew it was the place for us after speaking to Christine who is the owner along with her husband Ed. We felt welcome even before getting there. Our two night stay was everything we wanted it to be. Christine ane Ed truly made us feel welcome and special and the B&B was beautiful. They thought of every touch you needed in order to feel comfortable and at home. Christine is an amazing cook and the breakfasts were out of this world. Ed and Cristine were a wealth of information about area attractions, restaurants etc and were always avaiable for interesting conversation if you wanted it. The grounds were beautiful and we loved our room and balcony which over looked the grounds. There was even a swimming pool which is unusual for a B&B. The whole place was decorated beautifully but in a way that made you feel comfortable. We left feeling like we made new friends as well as feeling relaxed. My husband and I would love to return there and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a special get away.

  • Liked — the grounds and the B&B owners
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Our stay at this b and b was absolutely wonderful! i recommend it unequivocally. we had a relaxing, romantic and peaceful retreat from the daily grind. the innkeepers have devoted such care, love and attention to this tremendous and majestic 1800s home. the establishment captures the quaint charm of a warm and friendly inn yet offers truly private settings and caters to your every need like robes(!) tvs with cable (neatly hidden in sophisticated furniture), and gorgeous private bathrooms. also breakfast is 5-star, coffee is terrific (so important). inkeepers also have a few bottles of wine avail in a communal fridge that is just for guests(along with sodas )... plus a basket of snacks too...so sweet! every setting in this grand home - from bathroom to the grounds to the lovely "keeping" room - is the *epitome* of cleanliness, new england heritage and cozy warmth. the bed we slept on spoiled us - the sheets pillows and mattresses were so completely dreamy that i felt like a million bucks when i woke up. thank you cornucopia -- i know we will be back!

  • Liked — dreamy plush comfortable fabulous bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

What a lovely B&B in Connecticut! We stayed in the Admiral Aston suite. The fireplace was perfect for a chilly winter day! The room is beautifully decorated, and is located in a very quiet area within the house. The room has a private porch, a king size bed and a sitting area. The bathroom is gorgeous! The innkeepers are wonderful. The breakfast is delicious. No detail is unnoticed- movies, wine, help with your bags, nice conversation... The house is immaculate with a delightful and soothing decor. All in all, it was an unforgettable experience.

  • Liked — Room privacy and fireplace
  • Disliked — Room temperature
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODBURY , CT. USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We recommend the Cornucopia very highly. The facility is charming and maintained to the highest standards. All the amenities one would expect are available--dreamy beds, thoughtful accoutrements, and tasteful furnishings. The innkeepers, Ed and Christine are friendly and helpful as well as respectful of privacy. We will definitely be back next time we need some R&R and a chance to reconnect.

  • Liked — wonderful furnishings
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

I must recommend the Cornucopia B&B in Southbury, CT!! From the moment that I exited the bumper-to-bumper traffic off of I-84 and arrived at the Edelson's home, I was transported to a simpler time and place. Ed was sealing the driveway when I pulled in. He greeted me with a big smile as if I was an old friend. As he took my little bag and led me through the front gate past his very pretty garden, I spotted a bright butterfly. A tall sunflower stood guard there, bowing. I could almost hear him whisper, “welcome, my lady”.

The Edelsons are charming and gracious hosts and our room was impeccable (the bed & sheets were heavenly!!). The historical colonial home is meticulously kept, but cozy and relaxing. We enjoyed delicious blueberry pancakes that Christine made herself and chatted with our fellow guests before heading out to look at the local antique shops. We ate at two excellent local restaurants, as well: The Good News Cafe & John's Cafe.

Located just 2 ½ hours from Boston and 3 hours from Philly, the Cornucopia B&B is an ideal weekend getaway for Northeasterners, but I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to everyone near and far! (The next time I stay there, I plan to go horseback riding at a local farm ;->)

  • Liked — Cheerful, Very Comfortable, Clean, Relaxing, Friendly
  • Disliked — I liked everything.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Loved our stay at the Cornucopia! Christine and Ed were excellent hosts, gave us great tips on local tourist attractions and a restaurant. Clean bedrooms with great view from the 3rd floor. Very historic B&B, Ed gave us a detailed overview of the history. Wonderful breakfast, blueberry pancakes with Vermont maple syrup, Yummy! Thanks for a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend to others and we hope to return some day.

  • Liked — Great hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: 782 Main Street North, Southbury, CT 06488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornucopia at Oldfield is Southbury's first bed and breakfast. The 'Oldfield' house has been a landmark in the community since John Moseley built it in 1818. It is an exceptional example of Georgian Federal architecture set on acres of rolling green lawns framed by majestic maples and original stone walls. There are 4 uniquely furnished rooms and 3 public rooms available for our guests. THe grounds are enhanced by a secluded swimming pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.