We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettletown State Park

Kettletown State Park
1400 George's Hill Road, Southbury, CT
(203) 264-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Southbury
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Saw all the reviews on this campsite and decided to come. Park is nice lots of open grass areas for kids to run around. The beach area was ok, the water didnt look to nice to swim in. It was very dark and swampy like probably because all the surrounding trees. We came late in August So not alot of campers was very quiet at night. We stayed in one of the cabins was very nice had 2 rooms that sleep 6. Back room had 2 sets of bunk beds. The front bed was a full. Cabins had electricity so might be go to bring a fan to keep cool. Bed cushions/mattress are very hard but after placing a few blankets on top it wasn't so bad. Bathrooms were clean but alot of spiders but something you would expect. It has only 1 shower in the woman's and men's bathroom not very private. We had a few skunk and raccoon visits so best to make sure food is inside. We did the hiking trail which was awesome. Trail is on the moderate level with steep hills and Rocky terrains. Its about 7 miles and we completed it with a group of 4 people took about 4 hours. A bit confusing with all the different color markers. A few signs says the trail was relocated so we ended up hitting a few dead ends. Overall stay was really good we will be returning next summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxbury,CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for children..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beach on lake Zoar. Can put up a tent.. Great from family out door fun. Bath rooms outdoor but clean.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here in June with my family and my brother's family. There were 6 kids total. We felt totally safe with them playing and riding their bikes around the loop. There were lots of things to do for the kids, the park rangers come around and let you know the schedule. The beach was just right for the kids too. We did minimal hiking. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will return. The only negative thing that happened was at dusk we were invaded by racoons and skunks! We stayed in campsite #17 and the critters just come right out of the woods to invade the site. One tried to take my cooler bag!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic camping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was VERY impressed with Kettletown State Park Campground!! Large, clean bathrooms. Showers were the press button, 30 sec shower spray, kind but wáter was NICE temp from get-go, great pressure and FREE. Grounds were clean, sites were large and nicely shaded, roads were paved well, (there are some hills but roads generally flat around camp sites - kids loved riding bikes and I felt safe letting them.) No electric and wáter is shared by several sites (make sure you have a large container to carry and store so you don't have to go back and forth). Ranger drove by all the time to check up on people. You do have to drive to the beach, it is kind of a hike, but the beach área is clean, breazy and worth it. saw rowboats and kayaks and fishing there.
If tent camping and posible rain, site #37 was a LAKE. But most other sites I saw during our 2 days of downpouring rain looked good. Did see some racoons so make sure trash is up high (higher than ours....woke up to a mess!!)
I didn't stay in the cabins but they looked nice(nice porch for rainy weather) and I spoke to someone who had one and they liked it - but something about no food allowed in there??? Not sure so doublé check that.

All in all the ENTIRE family had an AWSOME time and can't wait to go back! Would HIGHLY recommend!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4th of July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a state park and the entry fee for vehicles with license plates of CT was $9/day. There are many picnic tables spread throughout the park allowing privacy between the groups. Our group was around 20 people and we had plenty of space to barbecue and play ball games. Even though it was a very hot day, the space we had was under some trees and it did not feel too bad Most certainly the ice cream truck that comes around from time to time made many kids happy. We also enjoyed kayaking and swimming on the lake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettletown State Park also viewed

 

Been to Kettletown State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettletown State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.