We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Property, old, noisey rooms!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Heritage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Attractive Property, old, noisey rooms!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The property is very attractive as is the lobby and pool area.

The rooms are dated and have creaky floors that offer no sound insulation from the floor above! The air conditioning units are pre-programmed to turn completely off after a certain time of night regardless of the "manual" fan settings which means your sleep is disturbed when the whole unit decides to cycle back on again. It will run for about two minutes then turn completely off. Twenty minutes later it repeats! Very disrupting!
Beware, if you want a quiet night or allow the fan to drown out the noises from other rooms, you won't get either!

I would not return.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Rudyfs2:

Thanks for your recent review. Just so you are aware, both for Air Conditioning and Heating our room fans can be set to remain on indefinitely. I am so sorry that you did not let us know you were having an issue when you were here so we could have solved your problem.

Please let me know when you plan to be in the area again. I would be delighted to make your reservation personally and insure that you receive a quiet room with a view of the river.

Kind regards,

Judith Kalfon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    34
    19
    11
See reviews for
90
68
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel doesn't offer so much amenities but it has basic necessities. If you want to have a simple vacation with swimming pool, gym, ping pong game, racket court.... the Heritage Hotel is the place to release your kids and relax.

Dinner @ restaurant is very good and the service is very friendly. I recommend famalies who wants to escape from busy city life and spend a time in country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent staiy at the Heritage Hotel. We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and that you enjoyed our many activities, which are available without resort fees. We certainly hope that you will join us again in the Fall or Winter when a totally different experience is available.

I have passed along your kind review to our Food and Beverage staff that you mentioned so positively. The staff at Shadrach's Pub is exceptional and I am glad you enjoyed their service.

We look forward to welcomoing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,


Judith Kalfon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful s'mores evening! How enchanting to be greeted by a roaring firepit... starry stars... and a delish experience as the Connecticut summer winds down.

Racquetball courts, indoor/outdoor pools, mountain bike rentals (minimal fee), billards, ping pong table... and a s'mores evening... Perfect place for a family with teens. We would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear IC,

All of us at the Heritage Hotel are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your weekend with us!

We are glad that you enjoyed the many outstanding and fun things to do at the resort from ping pong to tennis. The S'mores evenings at the firepit are truly magical. Please plan to join us in the fall for leaf looking and into the winter months for a relaxing weekend.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Kind regards,

Judith Kalfon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding.

I would say that overall, it's a comfortable hotel with the following positives:
*Attentive front desk. They have toiletries in case you forgot anything at home (toothpaste, deoderant, etc) and are eager to help
*A cute area - indoor/outdoor pool, handball courts - There were lots of happy kids when we stayed and I think it's a good choice for families looking for a close get away
*AMAZING bartender who was willing to run to our table to bring us a drink to our table in a few minutes when they had ran out of something specific
*Functional room with TV, air, hairdryer, etc.

However, there were some sour points to our stay:
*We asked for a drink during the wedding dinner, and were told "there is a bar over there." Yes, we saw the bar. But most waiters/waitresses at other receptions have no problem doing a quick run.
*the walls are THIN. I could hear every single conversation that went on in the hallway, leaving for a poor night's sleep
*There is no light in the shower/bath tub. The halo glow from the flourescent light in the bathroom just isn't enough

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about the positive aspects of your recent stay at the Heritage Hotel and will certainly pass along your compliments to the Front Desk for their attentive service and our Bartender for his willingness to serve you in such a hospitable fashion.

Please let me know the next time you plan to visit so that I may make your reservation personally and insure that you are placed in a quiet wing of the hotel. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to the Heritage Hotel.

Sincerely,
Judith Kalfon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Heritage Hotel son several occassions. My company used the facilities for meetings during the 90's. This was our first stay back in about 5 years. Apparently, there is a new general manager and the operations have changed. The property looks worn and is in need of repairs. The upstairs hallways (second & third floors) were hot because the air conditioning wasn't used. We were told that the system was broken, but would be fixed. I suspect that the general manager was saving money on the utilities. Our ice machine (1 of 2) was broken the entire week. We had poor water pressure in the room and were told that this had NEVER happened before. It couldn't be fixed. In addition, we had a leak on the carpet next to the bathroom that couldn't be fixed all week. Finally, I had to fight to get the negotiated room price when I checked out after staying a week. Oh yes, weekend weddings include (loud) drunk guests who roam the hallways at 1 or 2:00pm.

One of the desk clerks admitted that the new general manager had initiated many changes which lowered the quality and experience of the stay. I suspect that the complex is suffering from a poor economy.

Sadly, I would recommend that people visiting the area stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Matt B:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your unsatisfactory experience at the hotel.

We always try to provide our guests with an experience that makes them want to return but in your case we were obviously unsuccessful for which I sincerely apologize. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I can address your concerns in a manner that is satisfactory to you.
We are a very guest focused organization and would appreciate the chance to make it right.

Kind regards,
Judith Kalfon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My daughter's wedding reception was held at the Heritage this past July and it was wonderful. The director of catering, Jennifer Giuliano and her staff saw to it that every detail from the rehearsal dinner, reception, our accommodations to the breakfast buffet were carried out with expert care. Our many out of town guests made sure to let us know how pleased they were with their Heritage experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear RoseAnne,

What a beautiful letter! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how perfect your daughters wedding was at the Heritage. It is one of our staff's great joys to make a special event even more memorable by providing excellent service and a wonderful environment for a once in a lifetime day. We were recently named one of Connecticut's Top Ten Wedding Venues and compliments like yours show why.

We are thrilled that we got every detail right from the wedding to the brunch and send our sincere wishes to your daughter for a lifetime of happiness!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I run conferences and travel a lot and stay a lot of hotels, so I have a basis for comparison. The Heritage in Southbury compares very well with not only hotels that house corporate meetings but as a resort destination. The hotes is clean, up to date and has a lot of beautiful facilities. It has a goreoug outdoor and indoor pool and a very nice indoor gymn. there are also a lot of nooks and cranies to just wander off too and sit and read a book overlooking gardens or the countryside. The rooms make you feel that you are in a class act. They are stocked with all of the emenities such as soap, shampoo, conditioners, body lotion and the staff refills it every day .I asked for more and certainly got it immediatly. There are wide televsions in the rooms as well.

What I use as a benchmark for evaluating all hotels or inns I go to is the way the staff treats its guests. For me this is the most important feature of any hotel because it measures whether a hotel cares about its guests. To this end the Heritage gets 5 stars. The front desk people were nice and always had a smile. If I needed anything from houskeeping or from any of the staff meandreing around the halls, they took care of it immediatly. I asked one staff person where I could buy a couple of bottles of water and he told me to wait a minute and brough up two bottles of spring water with the hotels logo on it and gave it to me complimentary. He did not know that I was the chairman of the convention. This says it all and I would consider not only running more conventions at this hotel but coming as a guest for a weekend getaway .

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that faces nice scenery and is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith K, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Elliotu:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent excellent experience as a meeting planner at the Heritage Hotel. We are delighted that you and your group found not only the facility but our staff outstanding.

We always strive to insure that our group guests receive excellent service and are delighted that you found everyone pro-actively hospitable and responsive to your needs.

We certainly hope that you and your group will return often for more exceptional meetings.

Sincerely,

Judith G. Kalfon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.