We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Acres IS the place to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Acres Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Green Acres Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Acres Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   444 Bushy Hill Road, Simsbury, CT 06070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Simsbury B&B and Inns
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Green Acres IS the place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Yes, I know it sounds corny but it truly is the place to be! Me and my husband just came home from our visit and I couldn't wait to write a review. I want to begin by saying how wonderful the Inn Keepers Jim and Cathy were. From the moment we stepped out of our car we felt welcomed. They have the most amazing amenities I have ever seen at a B and B. Our room had a refrigerator stocked with beverages, snacks etc.. It also had a Keurig machine with plenty of coffee and teas to make right in your room (which is an added bonus for me since I need my coffee before I start my day!) It also had a decanter with wonderful Sherry, homemade cookies and a candy bowl. If things couldn't get any better, Jim offered us cake and coffee when we first arrived! They had the best bed linens and soft bathrobes and slippers. There was absolutely nothing more we could ask for and if there was Jim was ready to get it for us! Simsbury itself is such a beautiful town to visit with plenty to do, shopping, restaurants etc. But if you just need a night or two away, I would highly recommend staying at this Inn. Also, I have to say how generous Jim and Cathy were by allowing us to stay without a charge on Veterans Day to thank my husband for his service in the Army. Boy, there aren't enough people like Jim and Cathy in the world! Their home was painfully renovated from top to bottom and it shows. Everything in the home was lovely, we will be going back as many times as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night at Green Acres, and loved everything about it - the warm and very hospitable innkeepers Jim and Cathy, the beautifully decorated room with so much attention to detail, the always-lit fireplaces with soft peaceful music playing in the house, the cute and endearing dogs of the house Coco and Angel, the friendly chickens and ducks that are so fun to watch and feed, and the delicious and fresh breakfast (to name some things!). We visited Simsbury and Litchfield CT just to get away from city life for a day, and this was the best place to do it. I'd highly recommend Green Acres to anyone visiting the area looking for a bed & breakfast. We'll definitely go back! We would choose Green Acres over a hotel, any day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent three days in Connecticut for a high school reunion and stayed here with my sister. We had a wonderful stay. This is a beautiful, clean bed and breakfast and our hosts were delightful! Our rooms every day were stocked with yummy goodies, such as water, tea and cookies and we were never hungry. Breakfast was delicious, with home cooked eggs from the chickens that our hosts keep at the B&B-so free range and delicious. Beautifully appointed room and we had tons of room. Very comfy beds as well as a lovely location.
The price cant be beat. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

There was much to enjoy at this recently-opened B & B in Simsbury. The house was very cozy and comfortable. Our room was beautifully decorated and had so many touches that we really appreciated: a wonderful bed, lovely linens, a hair dryer and ironing board, a mini fridge with complementary water and soft beverages, a crystal decanter of sherry, cookies, a flat-screen television and more. The hosts were very nice people and the breakfasts were delicious. The best part about the breakfast is that we could choose when (up to 9:30 am) and where to eat it - meaning we could sleep late on our vacation. The pool was great and it had all sorts of things to float on. The pool house was equipped with suntan lotions, nice towels as well as a large refrigerator with watermelon and all kinds of soft drinks. A pretty place where we could really relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Acres Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Bed and Breakfast

Address: 444 Bushy Hill Road, Simsbury, CT 06070
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Acres Bed and Breakfast 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Green Acres Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Acres Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.