We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a wonderful stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Iron Horse Inn to your Saves list
The Iron Horse Inn
969 Hopmeadow Street, Rt. 10, Simsbury, CT 06070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Simsbury B&B and Inns
1 review
“Always a wonderful stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

I have been staying at the Iron Horse for several years when I come to Simsbury to visit family. The rooms are clean, although sometimes they are a little on the shabby side. The owners and staff are vey accommodating and go out of their way to make my stay pleasant.
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, this isn't the place. But if you want a reasonably priced, clean, friendly place to stay, I thoroughly recommend the Iron Horse.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
9
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Hill, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This inn has definitely seen better days. It's pretty shabby but the room was clean and we were glad to find a place we could bring our dog. The other place in town is extremely fancy and expensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simsbury hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed one night after a wedding. The inn was dated but clean and reasonably priced. The Innkeeper was helpful and let us all check in late.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here in August while we were in the area for a baby shower. They were very friendly on the phone and okayed us bringing our dog for an extra $25.00, which is fairly reasonable. When we arrived at 6pm we used a bell at a desk to call the owners. They came and checked us in and again were very nice. Put our stuff in the room and then went back to the home where the party was taking place. The room was definitely outdated but that alone was not a concern. As other reviewers mentioned, there are cracked tiles in bathroom and the sink did not drain well. THe big problem was the bed and the dirty sheets. I pulled the bedspread down and there were thousands of short black dog hairs all over the sheets and they had obviously not been laundered. The blanket was also disgusting and it was something I would only use to throw in the back of a pickup for moving furniture. At this point it was after midnight so I went down stairs and did not want to wake the owners as they had a found baby. So I went into the laundry room and found another set of sheets and changed the bed. It was very unpleasant and just creeped me out. I would never stay there again or ever recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Although the staff was nice enough, this place was totally gross. The place smelled moldy, the rooms were clean enough, but so old and natty, the beds were awful, the internet service was barely up, the pool closed, the cable was like 7 channels. I left as soon as I could and will not return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

What a horrible hole in the wall! Absolutely disgusting, dirty and nasty! I was in Simsbury to see a band, and it was the only place I found. I stupidly did not check Trip Advisor, or else I would have never stayed there. All the negative reviews are true! There were nasty stains on the carpets, dirt on the walls, the picture frame was cracked, and about 1/2 of the light bulbs weren't even there! We even noticed the outlet was cracked when we went to plug in our cell phones - gee that's safe!!! Please don't consider staying here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Everytime I'm in the area I always stay at the Iron Horse Inn. The exceptional service at this establishment is unparalleled. Management was always willing to go out of their way to accomodate my needs. I can't say the same for other hotels.It's also in a a great location close to plenty of restaurants. The comforting atmosphere of the Iron Horse makes for a great stay. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Horse Inn

Address: 969 Hopmeadow Street, Rt. 10, Simsbury, CT 06070
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 units, with outdoor pool free wireless internet available in all rooms, 2 bedroom apartment available for weekly rent, special rates for long term stay, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Horse Hotel Simsbury
Iron Horse Inn Simsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.