We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to Hartford hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simsbury 1820 House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Simsbury 1820 House to your Saves list
Simsbury 1820 House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   731 Hopmeadow St, Simsbury, CT 06070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Simsbury
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Hartford hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting and initially booked a hotel, but decided last minute to try the 1820 house for its charm and location. Simsbury is a darling little town with several good shops and restaurants nearby and an easy and scenic 15 to 20 min drive to nearby towns of West Hartford, Farmington, Avon, and Hartford. We could not have been happier with our choice. The building is old and getting some renovations, but the rooms were immaculate, the breakfast spread was impressive and delicious for being just continental--amazing bakery pastries, fresh fruit, bagels, yogurts, cereal, coffee, and juices. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever experienced traveling as was the shower--we didn't expect such great water pressure in such an old facility. The front desk service was friendly and outstanding throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
29
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

First of all, I will start by saying in all my years of travelling I have never felt compelled to write a review to Trip Advisor.
To begin with, to advertise their business as 'pet friendly' is not accurate. It is closer to being almost 'pet tolerant.' In addition to a fee for both of our dogs, we had to put down an additional $100 deposit. We were told about this before hand but when we arrived, the innkeeper further explained that the reson was that, 'I cannot have dog hair on my white duvet'. So, imagine our surprise (and disgust) to find long dark human hairs on that same white duvet. There was also substantial mold in the shower as well as the on the bathroom ceiling. There was also a ton of mold in a framed photo on the wall that was not matted tightly. I have never seen such a thing and it made me wonder when/if there has ever been a walk through done by a manager or owner.
The door to the outside 'patio' was extremely difficult to open and close. We finally just stopped using it..
The 'upscale breakfast fare' was all from Sam's or Costco or whatever is around there.
Additionally,I spoke with a fellow guest who shared that the innkeeper was exptremely rude to her 80 something mother.
I can only say that if I had not gotten the room through Hotel.com (which still cost $100+) I would really be pitching a big one.
In conclusion (and it is hard to stop) the grounds are pretty but there are signs stating that there is pesticide all around.
The place is extremely shabby and untended where they are trying to pass it off for charming.
Really - just plain bad news.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We spent one night here and felt like 'royalty' in our beautiful 4 poster bed. The House is delightful as are the gardens. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. There is wifi here but we were unable to connect in our room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

You can feel the history surrounding this elegant Inn. The furnishings are antiques throughout. The room was large with a beautiful canopy bed. Even with the elegance of decor I felt cozy and comfortable. The staff were not unfriendly, yet did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome. The town is a typical New England village and a great place to explore.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Not having the perspective of previous stays, my overall impression of the Simsbury 1820 House iss somewhat favorable, though there are a few things the management could do better. But at their price point, it is a good alternative to the chains.


Our room was an oddly laid out 3rd floor attic-type corner room (#301), with windows facing two directions (see photos). The huge bed was quite comfortable, if a bit soft. Linens and towels were above average. There was a huge mirror on one wall, very good if you’re dressing up (see photos). A fairly ordinary bathroom (photos), somewhat moldy shower tiles and wall adjacent to toilet (photos), and a handy sink outside the bathroom. An electrical outlet plate was falling off the wall next to that sink (photos). Overall, the room was unusual and cosy, but seemed a tad worn, and in need of some basic repairs. We had to go up several flights of narrow stairs to get there, and then four additional steps in the attic. Accessibility can be an issue in historical buildings.


Front desk service, in the tiny lobby as you enter the building, seemed a bit diffident. They were attentive enough, after a fashion, but did not really have that welcoming attitude that great innkeepers possess. And you have to ask them to fill your ice bucket, which they apparently go to another building to do. (Seemed a bit troublesome- perhaps a guest ice machine in the main building would be easier.) But for an Inn purporting to be 190 years old, I expected a bit more personal charm from the staff.


Their continental breakfast was adequate, with the usual breads, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juice, and coffee (photos). The locally-made scones were excellent, as was the coffee and tea, which was available 24 hours a day. The public areas (living room, sitting room, dining area, etc) were classic and very 19th century, if a bit worn also. We had lots of trouble with wireless Internet access- reception was non-existent in our room. But down the hall and around a corner we found a chilly alcove where we could get a connection (photos). You could also get a good connection in the lobby.


Despite the somewhat threadbare aspect of some of this Inn’s accoutrements, and the lack of personal “warmth”, the price-to-value of this property is still high. At 129-149 plus taxes per night (January 2011), it is 25% cheaper than the nearby (and co-owned) Simsbury Inn. If you have the money, you might want to try that hotel: it is just down the street a ways. Either place is way better than the cookie-cutter chain motels, which aren’t that much cheaper in expensive Connecticut.


Overall, I’m giving the Simsbury 1820 House 3 stars. It has the potential to be marvelous, but needs a bit of work on facilities and attitude. It is a historic building, for which some decrepitude can be forgiven, but the owners need to work harder to raise it above average. Keep your expectations low, and you may enjoy it. It’s a decent value, for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I LOVED the 1820 House! The staff was extremely helpful and kind, even going so far as to help arrange a surprise gift basket and cleaning the room multiple times in one day. The room was spacious and elegantly decorated - they really do look like the pictures on the website! I really have nothing bad to say about them... my husband and I are planning to go back for Christmas :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

The bad experience started with the misleading website. We selected "room for three" assuming that would mean there would be at least two beds for the three of us. Unfortunately, the reservation system doesn't clearly call out or give users the option to specify the number of beds. We then found out, there was only one bed for all of us. If we wanted two, we'd have to upgrade and pay more.

We complained via email assuming the hotel would give us the benefit of the doubt given this was a deficiency with their website. Unfortunately, they used this as an opportunity to make more money rather than to generate some basic good will with us.

The unhelpful and unsympathetic staff then up-sold us to a double king room. When we arrived, we again complained and the staff continued to refuse to give us a room with a two beds at the price the website quoted us. Amazingly, the hotel was empty this night with only two other cars in the parking lot (no wonder why!). The front desk person was argumentative and told the three of us sarcastically that if we wanted the lower rate, then they would gladly put us in room with only one bed. Ha ha. Not very funny.

The room itself was in a converted garage. There was debris on top of the canopy bed and the bathroom was dirty (dead bug, mildew in the shower).

This place has a lot of potential. It's in a good location, has nice rooms that could be cleaner and is in a charming historic building. Unfortunately, even in their down season the staff is surly, inflexible and not willing to give the benefit of the doubt to their customers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Simsbury 1820 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simsbury 1820 House

Address: 731 Hopmeadow St, Simsbury, CT 06070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simsbury 1820 House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Simsbury 1820 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simsbury 1820 House Hotel Simsbury
Simsbury 1820 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simsbury 1820 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.