We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Shelton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Shelton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Shelton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Staycation
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ellicott City, United States
1 review
“convenient and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

this hotel was conveniently located outside NY on our way up through CT on our way to NH; the staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant despite our very late night arrival, even giving us an upgrade. The breakfast was convenient and fairly good. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Christopher, I am very happy to hear you were greeted with wonderful service and appreciated the location. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your positive experience with me on Trip Advisor.

I look forward to your next stay!

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    75
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
163
47
11
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed here last year on our way to Maine,so we decided to stay on our way back from Maine this summer. The Inn seems to have gone downhill a little since our last visit. The biggest thing we noticed was the condition of the breakfast area. The floor was so sticky your shoes made a thwacking sound when you took a step. I only saw one very young man trying to take care of the whole area. The fresh fruit/melon bowl was empty the whole time we were eating,the scrambled egg tray was marked sausage,egg and cheese when it was only eggs.The carpeted area of the breakfast room was dirty as were the elavators. The room was still decent and seemed clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience at breakfast during your stay. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and your feedback is certainly appreciated. I will incorporate your feedback into our training to ensure that there is improvement on property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your room.

Please contact me at your convenience so we can discuss the details of your stay further and so we can work to find a resolution so you feel comfortable staying with us again in the future.

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The accommodations at this hotel are outstanding. The breakfast buffet offered a variety of delicious, healthy choices. The staff were courteous, professional and very helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us! I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to take advantage of our amenities!

We look forward to your next visit!

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here on the way back to NYC from Cape Cod. It's about 2 hours outside New York City. We use Hampton Inn because they're dog friendly. This was our best experience ever with the brand. Booked online. Easy check-in and check-out. AARP discount helps. Clean, well appointed. Lots of things to do right nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Modern, clean, very attractive lobby, good breakfast, beautiful suite type room, friendly staff, great bathroom with Neutrogena toiletries, comfortable bed!
There were several good restaurants closeby, a highway convenient to NYC and to the eastern coast is 1/2 mile away.
I can't think of one negative thing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Accomodations were ok. TV selection extremely limited. foul odor from toilet especially in pm. Smelled like septic tank back up. Facilities , pool , gym , lobby were fine based on observation. Staff was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Thank you.
Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had so many problems I don't know where to begin. Rooms were not cleaned well at all, car was broken into, breakfast was not stocked, waffles were either mushy and soggy or hard as a rock, nothing else was brought out when it was gone, staff was rude, had to ask for towels and cups for rooms every time because cleaning staff didn't replace items...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Daniel,

I truly apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. I am glad that I was able to meet with you while you were here and come to a resolution before you left. Your feedback regarding the other areas of your stay will be shared with the appropriate teams to ensure we are improving.
I hope that you would give us the opportunity to show you a better experience your next trip to Shelton.

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Hotel Near Yale, Bridgeport and New Haven Welcome to the newly-renovated Hampton Inn Shelton-Trumbull, the area's premier all-suite hotel close to Yale University, Bridgeport and New Haven. Our hotel near Yale is convenient to a dozen local colleges. Fairfield, Sacred Heart and Quinnipiac Universities are a short drive from our central Connecticut hotel. Sightseeing in New Haven begins at The Green, the original town square when New Haven was designed in 1638. This historic attraction, minutes from Shelton, is also the setting for three architecturally distinctive churches. Other Shelton area attractions include the Barnum Museum, Beardsley Zoo and The Sports Center of Connecticut, all of which are convenient to our Shelton hotel. Business types return to our hotel in Shelton for easy access to several companies such as Sikorsky Helicopters / United Technologies, Perkin Elmer, Pitney Bowes, GE, OCE and Unilever. Our hotel features two on-site meeting rooms and a free, fully-equipped Business Center. During your visit, stay connected with free wireless and wired Internet access. Start your day off right with the hot breakfast bar, featuring a great selection of hot and cold items and our signature cinnamon rolls. At the end of the day, unwind in our new Fitness Center, or just relax in the large indoor pool. Stay Smart at the Hampton Inn Shelton Trumbull! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.