We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean upscale hotel. Would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Shelton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Shelton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Shelton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Staycation
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
“Clean upscale hotel. Would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is so clean. The staff was nice and very helpful. The breakfeast was good. Not bad for a free breakfeast. Get there early though like 8am. Overall a great experience would definitely and will come back. Worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampton Inn-Shelton on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate it! I am glad to hear that my staff and hotel was everything that you anticipated and that you will be coming back in the feature!
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Fernando Solis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    64
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
142
43
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was a pleasure to deal with. I look forward to coming back again. it is situated near the interstate and there are shopping and activities close by. Plenty of parking too, and they also have a neat indoor/outdoor water slide - Awesome indeed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor! I certainly appreciate all of your comments and wanted to recognize them! Thanks for recognizing how clean and convient our hotel is.
Thanks for your recommendation and I hope we see you again soon!

Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Nj
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel has great rooms. They are very well laid out. Lots of little extras; big flat-screen TV's, spacious, comfortable furniture ,solid wifi, microwave/fridge. The room was quite clean. I hit a problem with heat in my first room (it suddenly went off). However, not only did they give me a new room promptly, but they even delivered the keys to me and it was just a few rooms down...I didn't have to go down to the desk. A decent free breakfast. Although I didn't use it, they had a decent workout room and an indoor pool. Front desk people were terrific.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn Shelton, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampton Inn-Shelton on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate it! I am glad to hear you enjoyed all the extra amenities the Hampton Inn has to offer from the flat-screen TV to indoor pool. I am very sorry to hear that you had a heating issue in your room; our engineering staff has been informed to fix the issue so it doesn’t happen in the feature. It is reassuring to hear my Front Desk staff acted within a timely manner to correct the issue. We pride ourselves on ensuring your stay is as smooth as possible, in the instant that you encounter an issue. We do everything we can to rectify the situation as soon as possible.
I hope that you are able to come back soon and enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer!

Hope to see you again!
Fernando Solis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed three times at Hampton Inn, Shelton, CT. All the three times - my experience has been excellent - right from the front desk at the time of check-in to the last point of check-out. Courtesy, Ambience and facilities are very good. I will stay Hampton Inn hotels wherever I travel in USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Overall experience at this hotel was great. The rooms were nice and spacious with very clean bathrooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were greeted every time we entered or exited the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We came for a brief getaway from the cold to enjoy a warm pool with a great waterslide, and a nice breakfast. We were not disappointed. I would have loved to have a hot tub as well, but the kids enjoyed the slide and that was enough for me. The towels could be a bit softer to make it more pleasurable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip and it was the nicest Hampton I have ever stayed at. I am a HHonors Diamond Member and stay at many Hilton properties throughout the year and was pleasently surprised by this Hapton. Great rooms, nice bathroom, soft bedding, typical Hampton breakfast, great hotel decor, and overall a great stay. Internet speed was just average but that was the only non-positive thing I could say about this place. If I am in this part of Connecticut again, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Hotel Near Yale, Bridgeport and New Haven Welcome to the newly-renovated Hampton Inn Shelton-Trumbull, the area's premier all-suite hotel close to Yale University, Bridgeport and New Haven. Our hotel near Yale is convenient to a dozen local colleges. Fairfield, Sacred Heart and Quinnipiac Universities are a short drive from our central Connecticut hotel. Sightseeing in New Haven begins at The Green, the original town square when New Haven was designed in 1638. This historic attraction, minutes from Shelton, is also the setting for three architecturally distinctive churches. Other Shelton area attractions include the Barnum Museum, Beardsley Zoo and The Sports Center of Connecticut, all of which are convenient to our Shelton hotel. Business types return to our hotel in Shelton for easy access to several companies such as Sikorsky Helicopters / United Technologies, Perkin Elmer, Pitney Bowes, GE, OCE and Unilever. Our hotel features two on-site meeting rooms and a free, fully-equipped Business Center. During your visit, stay connected with free wireless and wired Internet access. Start your day off right with the hot breakfast bar, featuring a great selection of hot and cold items and our signature cinnamon rolls. At the end of the day, unwind in our new Fitness Center, or just relax in the large indoor pool. Stay Smart at the Hampton Inn Shelton Trumbull! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.