We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Shelton - Consistency Reigns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Shelton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Shelton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Shelton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Staycation
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Denver, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hampton Shelton - Consistency Reigns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hampton Shelton, CT provided excellent service; an excellent room; a phenomenal fitness center and a great pool (wish I had my family on this trip). I travel extensively and prefer Hampton Inns to most any chain due to their consistent service, cleanliness and comfort during stays. Thanks Hampton Inn!!1

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    64
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
139
43
11
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Center, MN, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I could get four bars LTE phone reception standing in the parking lot across the street from the hotel. But in my first floor room, I barely got one bar of regular (not even 3G) service for my phone. (I'm on Verizon Wireless.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Clean, nice hotel. The room is large, clean and in very good condition. The hotel staff is always polite and easy to work with. Includes Internet and breakfast. I stay here frequently and have never had a bad experience. Always impressed with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The free breakfast is not great, but most aren't. If you are looking for a good cup of coffee, and maybe a quick bite to eat like fruit, cereal or yogurt it is okay. If you are looking for a full meal you will have to stop at the diner next store. The price of the hotel fluctuates quite a bit, but that also seems to be the norm now as I travel for business frequently I have found more hotels change prices almost hourly. I have paid a low of $109/night here and a high of $160/night here. The odd thing is I paid the cheapest rate when I walked in without a reservation and the highest rate when I made reservations well in advance and had joined the Hilton Rewards program, not sure that sends the right message. Both rates were comparable to other local hotels and reasonable for what you get at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are in the Shelton area this is the place to stay. Nice clean fresh smelling rooms are just the start. Add in wonderful staff and a really fun water slide and pool and you have a great experience. My family really enjoyed it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For location, price and accomodations, this hotel was a good value. Rooms were clean, the breakfast was decent, and the staff was helpful and pleasant. The front desk handled a last minute billing change at checkout without any hassle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We attended the Litchfield Jazz Fest this past weekend. Traveling with two teenage daughters, we needed to be near shopping .... duh. The Hampton Inn in Shelton was perfectly situated. There are several malls nearby. We drove about 25 minutes to the Clinton Crossing premium outlets. Very nice selection of better brand shopping. But back to the Hampton. Excellent breakfast selections. Very nice staff. Clean and updated hotel. Bed was amazingly comfortable. For the first time, we booked a separate room for our teen daughters. Best move ever! We got a good rate thru expedia that made it worthwhile. P.s. The girls said the pool was great, and the slide was AWESOME. Thanks Hampton!

Room Tip: I hear the first floor rooms are reserved for travelers with pets and that sometimes it can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed in many Hampton Inns from Niagara Falls, NY to South Florida as well as elsewhere in the U.S. We always ask for an accessible room since I am physically challenged. Usually the room is a half hearted but honest attempt to be accommodating. It normally appears to have been designed by someone who has not faced the challenges of being physically disabled. This type of room normally should accommodate both the person who is challenged as well as his/her partner or caregiver. Hampton Inn along with most other hotel chains we have stayed with do not get it all right, but Hampton usually does the best.
Well, the Hampton Inn in Shelton, CT, hit a home run. They got it ALL right. Most things in room 512 are at dual heights (except for desk and washbasin – not accessible for a small person) including the door locks. There is plenty of room for wheelchairs and lots of room to turn around. There is a lovely sitting area, refrigerator and microwave, small dining table. The bathroom is huge with a wonderful roll-in shower. There also is a huge dual level closet. One minor correction: that closet needs a light. The public areas are large and lovely in this new facility.

We are here now for three days. My hat is off to the Hampton Inn in Shelton, CT.

Room Tip: For the physically challenged we recommend room 512.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Hotel Near Yale, Bridgeport and New Haven Welcome to the newly-renovated Hampton Inn Shelton-Trumbull, the area's premier all-suite hotel close to Yale University, Bridgeport and New Haven. Our hotel near Yale is convenient to a dozen local colleges. Fairfield, Sacred Heart and Quinnipiac Universities are a short drive from our central Connecticut hotel. Sightseeing in New Haven begins at The Green, the original town square when New Haven was designed in 1638. This historic attraction, minutes from Shelton, is also the setting for three architecturally distinctive churches. Other Shelton area attractions include the Barnum Museum, Beardsley Zoo and The Sports Center of Connecticut, all of which are convenient to our Shelton hotel. Business types return to our hotel in Shelton for easy access to several companies such as Sikorsky Helicopters / United Technologies, Perkin Elmer, Pitney Bowes, GE, OCE and Unilever. Our hotel features two on-site meeting rooms and a free, fully-equipped Business Center. During your visit, stay connected with free wireless and wired Internet access. Start your day off right with the hot breakfast bar, featuring a great selection of hot and cold items and our signature cinnamon rolls. At the end of the day, unwind in our new Fitness Center, or just relax in the large indoor pool. Stay Smart at the Hampton Inn Shelton Trumbull! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.