We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Shelton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Shelton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Shelton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Staycation
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

hotel was good but wish the rooms could have been a tad bit bigger. My 4 yr old son loved the waterslide which is 1 good reason i would return. bad thing is NO room service :( had to go out everynight for food but everywhere i drove there was a restaurant :) but overall id recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    75
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
163
47
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I live in Shelton and took my family on a stay-cation. We had a wonderful time. The pool and the awesome water-slide kept my active children entertained for hours. All of the staff went out of their way to accommodate all request we had. The breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake. The Hampton Inn had many breakfast choices and the staff always had a friendly smile on their faces. The location is excellent as we had many choices of restaurants for dinner. I really love this hotel and will plan another weekend trip for my children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Did a quick 1.5hr car ride from North Jersey to this Hampton Inn for an overnight stay. It's right off I-95, maybe 10mins. Main reason for the visit was to escape the cold with a pool and water slide. The pool is nice, but gets very noisy, guess that's cause of the awesome water slide. If you have kids, or are still a kid at heart, this is the hotel for you on the weekends. During the week I guess it's a nice business hotel.

Rooms were clean and up to date. Breakfast was included, and did the job, nothing to brag about besides maybe the waffles. 24hr. free coffee is a nice touch. There is a small store at the front desk that has snacks and ICE CREAM! This place was a great deal for a night away.

Staff was wonderful!

Hampton Inn has another one of these style hotels in North Conway, NH, but that one has two indoor water slides and a kiddie area, plus a hot tub. Worth it too if in the area of Mount Washington. I also see they have one in NC, and hope to check it out one day. I wish all Hampton Inns had water slides, you hear me Mr. CEO?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Shelton in early February after returning from vacation during a huge snowstorm that prevented us from making it back to our house not even two miles away. As the hotel was formerly a "suites" hotel, the rooms are newly refurbished, much more spacious than your typical hotel room and all contain refrigerators and microwaves. The complimentary full breakfast in the morning was great. It was well stocked and well staffed for continuous updates. The pool here is a real treat if you have children. It has a three story corkscrew waterslide!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Updated hotel.. large spacious clean room and many restaurants nearby. The hotel was crowded as we did stay for a holiday weekend. The free breakfast was just "okay" because there were so many people and the food couldn't come out fast enough.Seats and food was very limited. We waited twenty minutes for eggs.

Rugs are needed from the pool to the elevators to sop up some of the water from people dripping.. it is a hazard. The pool and water slide were a lot of fun and seemed to be a big draw for the kids. We wished the main pool was warmer though.. it was a bit chilly for an indoor pool in the middle of the winter. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They were able to make great restaurant recommendations.

For the price we were very pleased overall.. the kids had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, anaheim,orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I needed a "mental heath" getaway from the family and this was perfect. I had a great room and enjoyed the coffee maker and fridge in the room, which I used. Used the pool too. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Had friendly conversations with the staff as well. The staff was very attentive. Decided to take my husband up there for our anniversary overnight. And if I should need another escape...that is where I will go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Hampton Inn for a business meeting that took place during the huge snow storm, therefore the hotel was short staffed and everyone seemed a bit overwhelmed.
The hotel is newer, large rooms and comfortable beds,the only issue with the room was that the bathroom set up, also, the elevators had an awful smell.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Hotel Near Yale, Bridgeport and New Haven Welcome to the newly-renovated Hampton Inn Shelton-Trumbull, the area's premier all-suite hotel close to Yale University, Bridgeport and New Haven. Our hotel near Yale is convenient to a dozen local colleges. Fairfield, Sacred Heart and Quinnipiac Universities are a short drive from our central Connecticut hotel. Sightseeing in New Haven begins at The Green, the original town square when New Haven was designed in 1638. This historic attraction, minutes from Shelton, is also the setting for three architecturally distinctive churches. Other Shelton area attractions include the Barnum Museum, Beardsley Zoo and The Sports Center of Connecticut, all of which are convenient to our Shelton hotel. Business types return to our hotel in Shelton for easy access to several companies such as Sikorsky Helicopters / United Technologies, Perkin Elmer, Pitney Bowes, GE, OCE and Unilever. Our hotel features two on-site meeting rooms and a free, fully-equipped Business Center. During your visit, stay connected with free wireless and wired Internet access. Start your day off right with the hot breakfast bar, featuring a great selection of hot and cold items and our signature cinnamon rolls. At the end of the day, unwind in our new Fitness Center, or just relax in the large indoor pool. Stay Smart at the Hampton Inn Shelton Trumbull! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.