We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, the manager and staff are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Shelton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Shelton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Shelton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Staycation
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Shelton
Farmington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, the manager and staff are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This excellently managed, brand new hotel is immaculate. The decor is outstanding, and the staff is warm and detail oriented. The breakfast is delicious, with Belgian waffles that you can make yourself. The mattresses are "cloud nine" and live up to their name. The bedding is fresh and so comfortable you will look forward to going to bed at night. The unlimited coffee, tea, and hot chocolate near the lobby is well stocked and the beverages are hot, fresh and delicious. The guest washer and dryer work very well and are brand new and modern, as is everything, including a poster sized touch screen computer with directions, restaurant info and boarding pass printing capabilities. This is a true gem.

Room Tip: The manager told us that an indoor pool with a large slide is planned soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    51
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
113
36
10
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Newly renovated property. Rooms excellently decorated, beautiful property, much better than the hilton garden inn across the street. No fresh cookies but do you really need to pay more for fresh cookies. Rates are soo much better for updated property, Three thumbs up.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the east give you a wonderful wake up call
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I travel to this area every few months to visit family, and chose to stay at the Hampton Inn this time. The last time I stayed at this property it was still an Amerisuites, at least 5 years ago. Being able to earn Hilton Honors points was a plus for me. Even though the building is about 12 years old, it felt like I was staying at a brand new hotel. The bathrooms and carpeting were much nicer than they used to be. We were right next to the elevators, but I didn't hear any noise all night, even though there was a large group staying for a wedding.

The free breakfast was more than adequate. I would put this hotel as one of my preferred choices for the area, it was right up there with the Homewood Suites in Shelton, and much nicer than the Hampton Inn a few towns away in Milford. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, with the exception of the night clerk on Saturday Night. The pool is not open yet, but it was made known on the website so there were no surprises.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, it may be a good idea to avoid the rooms on the first floor just off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The desk clerk told us that the hotel had recently been converted from a Holiday Inn to a Hampton Inn. The place was great. Clean. Fresh. Well run. Nice staff. Everything you would expect from a good Hampton Inn. And the weekend price (with AAA) was a bargain. A few minutes off of the Merritt Parkway, and worth the short extra drive to be in the Connecticut country and not right on I- 95. But it's not in the boonies: restaurants and other conveniences are right in the area. We definitely will return there when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect because of the comparably low rates but this hotel was great! The loby was modern and clean. The room was also very nice. There was a king bed and a separate seating area as well as a coffe bar complete with a microwave and fridge! The bathroom was very clean. Everything seemed brand new. We there for less than 12 hours as we were only staying because we were attending an event in the area the next morning so I can't really speak to any of the other amenities like the pool or fitness area. But if you're looking for a clean, comfy, esthetically pleasing, reasonably priced place to rest your head look no further. Oh breakfast is also included at the Hampton inn. It looked nice spread. We are vegan so only really ate the small fresh fruit selection and an engilsh muffin. The oatmeal they offered was instant with sugar and the peanutbutter had sugar and they didn't have any non dairy milk. I expected as much though. As an extremely health conscious eater I don't expect to find a good meal very many places. They had a make your own waffle station that looked good as well as several hot dishes. I think most people would be very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shelton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Hotel Near Yale, Bridgeport and New Haven Welcome to the newly-renovated Hampton Inn Shelton-Trumbull, the area's premier all-suite hotel close to Yale University, Bridgeport and New Haven. Our hotel near Yale is convenient to a dozen local colleges. Fairfield, Sacred Heart and Quinnipiac Universities are a short drive from our central Connecticut hotel. Sightseeing in New Haven begins at The Green, the original town square when New Haven was designed in 1638. This historic attraction, minutes from Shelton, is also the setting for three architecturally distinctive churches. Other Shelton area attractions include the Barnum Museum, Beardsley Zoo and The Sports Center of Connecticut, all of which are convenient to our Shelton hotel. Business types return to our hotel in Shelton for easy access to several companies such as Sikorsky Helicopters / United Technologies, Perkin Elmer, Pitney Bowes, GE, OCE and Unilever. Our hotel features two on-site meeting rooms and a free, fully-equipped Business Center. During your visit, stay connected with free wireless and wired Internet access. Start your day off right with the hot breakfast bar, featuring a great selection of hot and cold items and our signature cinnamon rolls. At the end of the day, unwind in our new Fitness Center, or just relax in the large indoor pool. Stay Smart at the Hampton Inn Shelton Trumbull! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.