We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff and a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shelton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Shelton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Shelton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional staff and a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

During my stay I experienced excellent service from all of the staff at this hotel. They go above and beyond what is required. They are friendly and helpful and are a true asset to the hotel. I always felt like a welcomed guest and that they would do everything they could to ensure I had the best stay possible.

I found the room to be a good size and quality. The bar has an extensive range of drinks. As well as knowledgable, skilled and friendly bartenders. There is also tasty food to give you an excuse to have to wash it down with something.

I look forward to my next stay at this hotel. My past stays here have ranged from 2 weeks to 6 weeks. I have many choices of where I could stay in this area and I always choose to stay here for the above reasons and many more...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isnt connecting and on a floor that isnt too high up to avoid waiting for the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We truly appreciate your feedback on our team here at the Courtyard Shelton. Although we get to see firsthand everyday what our Associates do it is always nice to hear from a guest who has not only experienced it but shares their thoughts. Whenever you find your way back to Shelton, CT, we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
10
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night. Great public area with a bar open at night, a Starbucks-type counter that serves breakfast, sandwiches, and dinner entrees. Two desktop computers, one not working. Business center well stocked. Indoor pool, fitness center.

Bedrooms are large, well appointed, micro, coffee maker, refrig, flat screen tv. Standard Marriott toiletries.

Well worn Mattresses need to be replaced.

Plenty of restaurants nearby, grocery stores as well.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St Lucie, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott, Shelton, Conn on 4/4. It was our third time staying here which tells you right away, we like it here. Nothing spectacular but...clean, well kept, updated, convenient, peaceful and meeting expectations for a terrific price are what it does deliver.

Room Tip: The hotel is quiet overall.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are suggestion cards about 'green' laundry practices in the room.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. We pride ourselves on not only being a beautiful and clean hotel but our people are what make us shine and keep bringing guests back again and again. Thank you for making us the choice when staying in Shelton, CT. We will look forward to seeing you a fifth and sixth time and many more after that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

A few glitches, but helpful and eager to please staff easily overcame. Room was okay, but mattress with broken spring in one bed. Location was good for our purposes. Pool closed when we arrived, but due to reopen. Other hotels nearby, as nice and offer free breakfast, so not sure I would stay here next time. Perhaps I would try again simply because staff was so accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
We are glad you stayed with us and had an opportunity to experience our wonderful staff which as you mentioned was so accommodating. We truly pride ourselves on the best team in the area and are happy you got to meet our team. On another note, I was sorry to hear that your experience with our bedding did not meet our standards. We are in the process of changing out ALL of our bed mattresses and are sure you will find the next time you are back in the area, a much more comfortable stay.

As for the breakfast, Courtyard by Marriott offers the bistro concept which enables us to offer a much wider variety of breakfast and dinner options for our guests. You will find that other hotels that offer free breakfast are very limiting in their options. We encourage you to come back not only to experience our new bedding but our wonderful Courtyard family. Thank you for your feedback and take care.

Sincerely,

Julie Belval
Director of Sales & Marketing
jbelval@sheltoncourtyard.com
203-567-0050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel is ideally placed for visiting nearby clients and the host of nearby, walkable restaurants. The staff are always helpful and genuinely happy to help. The rooms are clean and functional. The drawers in my room did not stop on their end stops and nearly left me with a broken foot. When I reported this the Reception staff were so aplogetic and hopefully the problem resolved.The bar was well stocked and the staff great; the nibbles a delightful accompaniment to the beer.

The breakfast was disappointing, with the use of outside caterers I did not agree to and was quite pricey

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have sent someone in to fix the drawers you told us about but other than that I am glad to hear all the positive feedback on our staff, service and hotel. Please come visit us again when business or pleasure brings you back our way. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

This was my second time staying at this Courtyard Marriott, the first was for a wedding a few months ago and the most recent for Valentine's Day. We had a room with a king size bed and pull-out couch, bed was very comfortable and room decorated beautifully! I was able to get the weekend rate which was $89, not bad for a Saturday night and especially on Valentine's Day. Lobby is beautiful, they have a bar and bistro as well as an indoor pool. It was nice to have glasses in the room instead of plastic cups! The only problems we ran into were that the ice machine on our floor wasn't working so we had to walk down to the 3rd floor to get ice, and none of the floors had vending machines. I wanted to get a couple sodas and wandered around a few floors before realizing there weren't any vending machines, so I ended up having to go all the way downstairs and buy them near the front desk. Other than that we had a great stay and I would recommend coming back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to share your experience about the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton. Our hotel prides itself on comfortable rooms and has all the amenities of a full service hotel for weekend guests like you to enjoy. We are addressing the ice machine that was not working during your stay and have communicated it to the appropriate department. Thank you again for your feedback and we are glad you will come visit us again and enjoyed your stay. Take care.

Very Truly Yours,

Julie Belval
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We spent 5 nights here while visiting family. There simply wasn't enough the staff could do for us during our stay. A blizzard came in and staff was outside cleaning cars, constantly cleaning walkways, etc. Many of them spent the night to be at work the day of the blizzard. Jenny at the Bistro was extremely attentive as were the evening staff and the food delicious. Megan and Lizzie at the Front Desk always had a smile and treated each guest as special.

If only every Marriott was like this! KUDOS to management and I hope the staff gets full recognition.

Room Tip: Away from the highway although the windows are pretty sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Shelton and had time to visit your family. We will be sure to let our staff know all the nice compliments your gave them. We hope to see you again soon. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shelton

Address: 780 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shelton Hotel Shelton
Marriott Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
Shelton Marriott
Shelton Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.