We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Shelton

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Shelton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Old Stratford Rd, Shelton, CT 06484   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Shelton
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After over ten years of staying at the Hilton here, I always enjoy the welcome I get. Faces and names have changed but seasoned staff, like Cathy, who has been serving breakfast to my kids and I since 2001, always greets me with a hug, like visiting with a member of the family. Cathy has watched my kids grow from toddlers to teens, and she never forgets what's going on in their lives. I always look forward to seeing her when I am here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheltonHGIManager, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Shelton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Cathy has been here for a number of years and certainly serves as a GREAT EXAMPLE to our team. The Executives at Hilton even realize what a true asset she is to our team as our service ranking among all Garden Inn's ranks among the top five percent! We are proud to have Cathy on our team and we all certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    68
    35
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
40
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer (or renovated) Hilton Garden Inn. Rooms are spacious, beds are really comfortable. The whole hotel was clean and well laid out. I would recommend it for either business or personal travel. Good location with numerous food choices close by. Also, the staff was very friendly. Solid hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stay here regularly because we visit our son and his family. It almost feels like second home because the staff is ALWAYS sincerely glad you are their guest and the rooms and lobby are immaculately clean. We always eat breakfast in the dining area and the entree is made to order with an immaculately clean buffet area for anything else you may desire. If you are in area, I strongly recommend this well run, professional "inn".

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the elevator, they tend to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the weekend of 2/1 to visit my girlfriend. I booked it through Priceline by selecting 3 star hotels in the Trumbull/Shelton area. Since it was a weekend, I made my bid $50 and it was accepted by the Hilton.

Pros:
-Staff are very nice and helpful
-Rooms are clean
-Beds are very comfortable
-Pool seems to be decent (didn't swim)
-Free Wifi
-Very close to highway

Cons:
-Breakfast is $12. I didn't try it, but it did look better than the usual free hotel breakfast fare.
-Bathroom smelled of smoke. Staff was very receptive to this, however, and I commend them.
-Due to weird vent configuration, you can hear loud noises (sex) from other peoples rooms.

Overall, I was very impressed by this hotel, and at only $50/night through Priceline, it is an absolute steal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Very cheerful staff no matter how the weather is outside. Tracy at front desk, John and Cathy's breakfast service. Efficient kitchen. Very good location. Good fitness room. Clean rooms though some rooms have noisy ac units which could use some maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the official hotel for a wedding I attended in CT this past fall. Nice place, convenient to the wedding venue, and overall a good stay. The hotel staff was pleasant, and our room was clean and quiet. The hotel hosted a brunch for the wedding guests the following morning, and the server we had there was attentive and very friendly. Overall a good stay-- I'd recommend it if you're looking for a hotel in the area. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am part of Hilton Honors through work, so we used that on our family trip. We were stopping for the night on a long drive from Maine to Philly. 4&6 year old get antsy on long trips.
We used the pool a couple of times, had a great breakfast. The cook made smiley faces on the pancakes for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Shelton

Address: 25 Old Stratford Rd, Shelton, CT 06484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Shelton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton Hotel Shelton
Shelton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Shelton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.