We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, bright and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Shelton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Shelton to your Saves list
HYATT house Shelton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Shelton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean, bright and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here before, during and after SANDY. Never lost power, continued to have great breakfast buffet with extensive selection. Most important, they extended our stay for two nights when all bridges and tunnels were closed in and round NYC . They charged a little more, but were not outrageous and took advantage of the situation even that they were booked out.

We would stay here again, hotel is pretty new and vey clean. It also has an underground parking garage - great bonus during a hurricane!

Room Tip: We had top floor, bright rooms and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    41
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
43
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt House in Shelton, CT to attend a wedding in the area. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. The staff was very helpful during the whole weekend. They recommended Biagio's Osteria for dinner and it was outstanding. They arranged for transportation to the restaurant so we were all able to have a drink and relax.

After the wedding, a large group of us including the bride and groom were able to continue the party at the bar. Some people ordered chicken wings which they did enjoy. Others could keep up with the Penn State/ Ohio game so they were happy. The children got to swim in the pool. This hotel had something for everyone to enjoy. The breakfast at the Hyatt was awesome and complimentary. Having breakfast together was a nice way of saying our good-byes after a happy event. I had an omelet made just they way I liked. The staff was wonderful to all of us.

The availability of two major restaurants in a very, very, short walking distance is a plus too. You don't even need to go near the street since the restaurants are in the same complex of buildings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to visit Quinnipiac for the first time and found this to be a great accommodation choice.
It was a beautiful room (almost like a suite), the hotel served an awesome complimentary breakfast, and it was offered for a good value.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the King size bed and sofa bed room, with a little kichenette. Although it was called a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a large number of our wedding guests, as well as the entire wedding party, staying here with us for our wedding weekend. Months and months previous to the wedding, in a series of back and forths with the hotel, we reserved adjoining rooms for both the groomsmen and bridesmaids. This was done after a tour with one of the managers including a discussion of what room types were available to be adjoining. After selecting the types, and re-confirming what types of rooms we wanted, we received a confirmation email complete with room numbers and their descriptions, which matched what we requested. Upon checking in, the first group to arrive found out that not only hadn't they given us the rooms we requested, the types we selected couldn't even be adjoined! So what was it that we confirmed and spent all this time discussing with the hotel?

What further frustrated the arrival was that some rooms were not ready until after the 3pm check-in time, despite the fact that some of our guests had called earlier inquiring about early check-in and were told that the hotel was not at capacity, so early check-in shouldn't be a problem.

Two different rooms needed to be changed because of a foul odor emanating from the room when they tried to enter. There was a somewhat funky smell to my room when I checked in, but that disappeared with time.

Beyond these, there were few issues, and multiple guests raved about the hotel, in particular the size of the rooms. Tip: The handicap suite is much larger than the standard suite, so book that if you can. Some of our guests even said they would return for a night away. The gym has more than a typical hotel gym, which is nice, and the free breakfast seemed to operate much smoother then it did in our first trip.

All was smooth sailing, and the hotel seemed the be handling everything great, until it was time to check out. We had a written contract stipulating free rooms that they had zero record of when we went to check out, and nobody on property who could remedy the situation. Not exactly what you want to hear when you've given the hotel 60 rooms of business, not to mention kept the bar open late. As if realizing how much business they had given them, they did lower the rate of the hotel rooms $10 in the middle of our stay.

Overall, the hotel's rooms are nicely sized and very nicely decorated, but management needs to step in and prevent the hotel from sliding into mediocrity.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked a room at Hyatt House in Shelton for a wedding earlier this month. The hotel is beautiful!! Everything looked very clean and modern. The room rate was very reasonable. We booked the hotel for under $100 with no AAA discounts or special online rates. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I am also a hyatt rewards member, and they upgraded my room to a suite for no charge when I arrived (I'm assuming because they weren't at maximum capacity, but a nice surprise either way.) How awesome! We did not know that the hotel did not have a shuttle to the wedding, but they offered to make arrangements for taxis, so it was no problem. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only thing is that I wish I woke up earlier in the morning because everyone else said breakfast was great!! I would definitely recommend this place. I have always had an enjoyable experience when staying at the Hyatt, no matter which one I stay in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and up to date. Best hotel I've stayed at in a while! The manager, I'm assuming, that checked us in wasn't very friendly. Older big white guy was an doushe bag. But after that the rest of the stay was awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms were adequate, large and good bath. Clean. The hotel is well situated servicing the many businesses that operate close by. The front desk was brisk and efficient.

Everything else in the form of services offered was mediocre. For instance the Hotel shuttle operated to drop customers off to nearby locations was not manned and in the emergency situation manned by the engg. director who then refused to haul our luggage! We (were a 15 member business group) had to organise the luggage drop for ourselves later. Food options inside the hotel can only be termed as limited. Options exist outside. Breakfast was OK, not great.

Overall it was a "good nights sleep and get out" place.
I would not want to spend a few moments longer than required here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Shelton

Address: 830 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Shelton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelton Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 127 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or relax and unwind in the indoor pool. Conveniently located near Yale University on Bridgeport Avenue, known to locals as “restaurant row”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Shelton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.