We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The value wasn't worth the price....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
838 BRIDGEPORT AVENUE, Shelton, CT 06484
203-944-9852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 121 Restaurants in Shelton
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An authentic Texas Style steakhouse.
Orange, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The value wasn't worth the price....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I went to dinner after we had dropped off out two boys at their Grandmother's house.
We had about a 10 minute wait, i thought that was odd for a Thursday night at about 8:00pm, but it was ok.
We waited just as long to get someone to take out drink order and be acknowledged. She was polite but the whole staff seemed more worried about getting done and going home.
We had the house salad, you could have used a spoon to eat it because everything was so finely chopped.
The My wife ordered the Porterhouse and Sweet Potato Bites, she did not like either, and did not finish her meal.
My steak was flavorful but seemed small, the veggies are the only thingh on the menu it seemed that was a healthy choice.
As for a romantic place to take a date, have date night, take your significant other out....take her someplace nice, this isnt it. the floors were not clean, the table did not look clean either.

We only went there because we had a gift card, We won't be returning with or without a gift card ! ! ! !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not very clean and food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Service is not very nice and the table booth were not very lean, in particular the wall where splashed in sauce and who-knows what.
The food is average.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We really enjoyed this Longhorn. Great service and excellent food. The wait, however, was pretty long which surprised us as we thought we arrived on the early side (5 PM).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have had dinner at this restaurant twice, and we have been completely satisfied on both occasions. The steaks are great, the margaritas and daiquiris are great, the portions are large, and the prices are more than reasonable. What more can you ask for? It can be crowded on weekends; but that is a good indication of how popular it is. I highly recommend the Longhorn Steakhouse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“food very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

steak was great although it was very crowded i sat at bar and got served quickly bar tender more interested in watching the game on tv! food was good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.