We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be returning...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stone River Grille - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stone River Grille
1 Glen Rd., Sandy Hook, Newtown, Sandy Hook, CT 06482
(203)270-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Will not be returning...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went here because we bought the Groupon they were offering. When we got there, we decided to wait for a table on the back deck, so we went to sit at the bar and grab a drink. I asked for a Pinot Grigio, and the bartender finshed pouring one bottle, opened another which was a different kind/brand, and filled my glass! Now, I dont know what you do behind the scenes, but if I'm watching you pour my drink, don't use two different brands/bottles right in front of me! Once we were seated, service was slow, and the food to come out was even slower. We definitely waited over an hour for our food. And, when we got it, it was not good! Mine came with no sauce and was missing 2 out of the 4 listed ingrediants on the menu (plate was $27), and my husband said his was not very good at all (fish tacos - $22).

The only nice thing about the place was the back deck by the river...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An early evening dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I took our daughter here for dinner earlier in the week as we had a Groupon voucher which was set to expire. Overall it's a nice place, as other reviewers have pointed out the restaurant has changed hands several times in recent years and is housed in what used to be a general store / corner shop. At 5.30pm the place was quiet, lots of space so choosing where to sit was no problem. My wife had the Very Berry Salad and then the Honey Muzard Grilled Salmon - she loved both . .. I had the Chop Salad and then a BYOB Burger. Very attentive server who answered our questions and double checked some of the ingredients in the dishes that my wife chose. We left around 7pm and it was starting to fill up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

For some reason this location seems to change owners and names every few months. We always hope the new one is good because of the location. Unfortunately this one is just as poor as the ones before it...the setup is odd and claustrophobic for such a large building. Service is fair, food is just not very good. We went once, they seated is near the side door with a handy close-up view of the kitchen work area just a few feet away. We ended up eating back in the bar, waited a while for the food which was tasteless. Our first and last visit.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skip this place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food was good, but small portions and the service was ok. I recently ate there with my sister and we thought we would try a few of the small plates. Small plate was an understatement. The 2 dishes we ordered with very small portions and not worth the $14 price tag. Our waitress didn't ask if we wanted another drink or dessert! She took it upon herself to give us the bill. When we asked for another drink she looked upset and walked away. Upon her return we got another bill! When she came back looking to see if we paid, we asked for the dessert menu and she was not happy with that! I'm in no rush to go back! There are plenty of other places in Sandy Hook, CT to eat! Go to Figs, just up the road!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Gary, the owner, goes out of his way to make this a destination restaurant. GREAT food and GREAT service! You must try this restaurant if you live near Newtown, CT.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone River Grille also viewed

 
Sandy Hook, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone River Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.