We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Rocky Hill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
WESTBOROUGH
1 review
“Business trip to Rocky Hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location was very close to the highway, did hear the a.m. traffic, but overall, for the money, room was clean enough. Bathroom needs some updating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
43
27
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Due to work commitments, I stay quite frequently....the hotel is neat and tidy...the cost is reasonable...and is perfect for my needs.....Peter is a kind, hospitable manager who strives to make ones stay as nice as possible..he greets me by name and frequently saves "my favorite room" for me....I have to chuckle when I read other reviews...remember, this is an Express Inn that, I would imagine, caters primarily to those on work travel etc. This is not a luxury hotel with room service. As such, ones expectations should be refined....I encourage you to stay......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I needed a place to stay for some job interviews in Farmington, Connecticut. I stayed here for 3 nights and I thought it was pretty decent for the affordable price. Peter, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The room was relatively clean with a comfortable size. There is free wifi which is a plus. And the free breakfast served waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, milk, coffee, and fruit juices. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a length stay booked here, but after one night quickly checked out.

Pulling up we were a little apprehensive due to the motel style rooms. But PETER quickly assured us that if there was anything suspicious going on to call immediately and he would have it taken care of.

The service was good, PETER was very nice and was willing to do anything to make your stay awesome.

We booked this place online so the value for it was very good!

Unfortunately, i am not a hard sleeper. So everytime i heard something i was quickly looking out the peep hole or the window ( due to the motel style rooms ). The was a little gapping around the doors which i think drew more noise in. Every car, person, shoe stepping, cricket was heard!

The cleanliness, being ocd, was not up to pare with my standards. but it was good if your not like that! bathroom was a little dated, and could use a good ol scrubbing, the air/heat was confusing. there was two different heaters and three different thermostats.. the bed was lower to the floor than most hotels, and not as padded as others. the room came with a mini fridge, microwave, desk and chair, and a table with two chairs.

The location is amazing! Pharmacies, groceries, laundromat, gas station, quick highway access, restaurants all within half a mile.

Your probably wondering what made us leave, right?
We have stayed in many hotels before and i have been a little traumatized but finding bugs in them. Which i did find one bug in the room! Unfortunately for my husband is enough for me to not want to stay there. The bug was a small roach, which is not my cup of tea.

Only seen one, but i quickly Lysol'd it and flushed it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for many years. The owner knows my name and greets me.
He is always upgrading the property. It does not look like much from the outside, but the rooms are new and always clean.

I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.