We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and tidy place to rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“clean and tidy place to rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We use the hotel on our way to Washington DC from Boston. The hotel is clean and tidy. It is not a luxury hotel but you have everything you need for a good rest The breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is a good start of the day. there is free parking and free wifi available. The staff was extremely nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
43
27
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The old style motel layout you've seen a thousand times, just very clean. Updated desk/chest unit, small fridge, microwave. Some curious switch placements for lighting. Two levels, no elevator, direct unit entry from the outside. If traffic noise is a bother, ask to be located on the side opposite the interstate. Very well located, close to the interstate and several restaurants.
Peter is as advertised, very eager to make your stay pleasant, the kind of reception you'd wish to find everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I felt compelled to write this review because I was so impressed by Peter Patel, the general manager at the Howard Johnson Express Inn. He's very thoughtful and he understands Hospitality! The rooms were tastefully furnished, the only criticism I would offer is that the ac in the room ran a little loud, but it in now way interfered with my sleeping. I'd stay here again hands down, you can't find this kind of management anywhere. Thanks Peter!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. Peter, the owner, was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast set up was very nice, and the coffee was fresh, hot, and delicious. When I accidentally left an item of value there, Peter himself searched the whole room for it and found it for me to pick up later that day. The price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I spent three nights here in June and was very pleased overall with the hotel. The room was very clean and the owner was very helpful with any issues I had. It's nice to see an innkeeper take real pride in what they are doing and this is definitely the case here. I rated the location as "Average" only because it's difficult to walk many places around there but it is convenient to the expressway if that is what you are looking for. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay again if I was in the Hartford, CT area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel on Hotwire. We were looking for a quick stay off Rt. 91 on our way to Maine. The room was clean and smoke free. Breakfast was fresh and the coffee was very good. Overall a nice property for a two star property. The owner, Peter, and his family live on the property and was very nice to deal with. Bottom line, I would definitely search this property out for an overnight stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.