We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These people are always happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border Mexican Cafe

On the Border Mexican Cafe
1519 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067-1303
860-899-1670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 68 Restaurants in Rocky Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“These people are always happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

It boosts my spirits to eat here. Food and prices are great. Service is wonderful. Such fun to see everyone enjoying themselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Buena comida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The house salsa has just the right amount of heat and the chips are hot, fresh and crispy. You won't find bag chips or grease laden ones here.
Now on to the Firecracker Stuffed Jalapenos..six of the most delicious little tempura gems that ever popped into my mouth. You need to try these. If you have any leftover, take them along and re-heat them in a conventional oven the next day...YUMMY!
Hmmm....curiosity made us try the Avocado Fries. They were very good, but since they were coated with a pasilla chile rub, the side of creamy red chile sauce over-powered the taste of the avocado. Perhaps, next time we will request just a ranch dressing.
The Brisket Tacos were interesting, however, the brisket was a little dry. Since the flour tortillas are made to order, we always get a dish that includes them. The Brisket Tacos were just beef brisket in a BBQ sauce and a little grated cheese served on a flour tortilla...no shredded lettuce, tomato, onion- no veggie matter of any kind. That would have completed this entree. Their House Margarita is a great accompiant to the meal.
The server was pleasant enough, but the service was a little slow and we ordered back beans and were served re-fried beans. No big deal!
We will return...and I will post that visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Review would've been better years ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I'm afraid OTB has slipped big time. Used to go alot, especially in Avon, from 1995 til it closed (my son, maybe 11 or so, cried). Now we go to Rocky Hill, at least once a year with big family group to celebrate birthdays. I think we'll look for somewhere new. Portions have gotten slightly smaller, food arrives luke warm, some is bland or out of a jar. The fajitas are still good...how do you screw those up? And the steak part of my dish, but not the three-flavors-of-dip app, nor the side dishes. If you go, get the house margarita...it's much better than the more expensive ones.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cold enchilada filling, best chile rejeno”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

When my dinner came out, I had to send it back as the cheese filling was still cold (it had never been melted). I will say hey have one of the best authentic chile rejeno's I've ever had. If you go on a Friday or Saturday night, be prepared for a wait.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We ate here in October 2011 during an overnighter at the Howard Johnson across the street. We just had the dips to start, accompanied with the free, bottomless tortilla chips. The dips were good, especially the black bean, and their house salsa was very good. The mains were even better. The menu is versatile enough that you can mix and match and that's what I did, having fajitas with pork and beef. The meat was perfect, and the accompaniments were all great. The fresh to order tortillas were fantastic. I'd dine here again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to On the Border Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.