We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hartford South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hartford South Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Hartford South Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   100 Capital Boulevard, Rocky Hill, CT 06067 (Formerly Marriott Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Dresden, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attentive staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice. The heavenly bed, clean, quiet rooms and good location were all complemented by a very good staff. I only have two minor remarks:

Firstly, there are complimentary snacks available at the bar but I didn't realize it until my fifth and final night. One has to ask; they're not automatically given out.

Secondly, watch out for the elevators! The doors open explosively, and before the car has settled into position. They need some serious readjustment. Surprisingly, this was news to the front desk personnel who were otherwise great to deal with. In fact, all the staff were a joy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tom,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We will be working on making sure all features and ammenities at the hotel are clearly explained in the future.


Thank you,

SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
17
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I will keep this short and sweet. I booked this hotel for a meeting back in March and overall the meeting room space worked for us. The staff and sales manager were more than accomodating for all our needs - which we had a lot of. (Last minute changes also!) Everyone enjoyed the food that was served for lunches and dinner during our meetings. Guest rooms were neat, clean and suit our needs. I would recommend this hotel for overnight needs as well as meeting room space. Thanks again to the hotel staff for making this meeting easy and the overnight stays comfortable:)

Room Tip: Top Floor is great for this place along w/ most hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear ZUZU1234,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We recently have undergone an extensive renovation and we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.

Sincerely,

SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

It's still a Sheraton, but being at the top of the food chain isn't bad. Property has clearly been renovated recently and it was not a hack job, they went in and did it properly and thoroughly. Service was quite good, nice Sheraton Club lounge with great attendants for breakfast on both days.

Only a few negatives:
- Pool was a little grimy on the edges and had chunks missing from the bottom. It looked fairly good but that was still a little unpleasant. Despite being indoors the pool was also a bit cold.
- There was some kind of family reunion going on and a few of them got into the club lounge and ransacked everything.
- The one thing they did not change in the rooms are the bathroom light switches, these things were absolutely nasty. Clean them! I used to have my housekeepers do that, it can be done!

Room Tip: get upgraded to a suite, they're great although they do not have dividing walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Manny,

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

Sincerely,

SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the moment that we walked into the lobby, I felt like I was coming home. The staff at the front desk was warm and inviting. And was smiling and happy to see me. The room was nice. The real reason that I am writing this review is to the staff at the bar. MIKE and MARYANN, Wow they made the four hour plane ride worth it . They was fun, friendly, and most of all they was like friends that u have know all your life. They made you want to stay there. They made u feel as if you was the only one in the bar. You never had to wait for them they was on top of all you needs. Thank you so much for making our weekend special. We will be back.

Bonita and Von Scarbrough

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Bonita,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Yes , Mike and Maryann along with the entire staff are always making sure all of our guests get this kind of Superb service.

We hope to see you if your travels brings you back to Rocky Hill


SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I am doing research on a book about beer I am writing. After a 9-hour beer bus tour of several breweries and brewpubs in CT, I was ready to get to our hotel and "crash." (Why didn't I drink along with the other merry-makers? I had to work, interview brewers in what I call a speed-dating quickness, and take notes).

Our front desk manager was dressed professionally, meaning a suit and tie, was friendly told us the hotel had just been renovated. It looked it....just beautiful, immaculate (one of my favorite words if the hotel earns it) and inviting.

We dumped out stuff in the room and proceeded to the bar/dining room, where again, the staff was professional and helpful. Our server suggested a Pinot Noir from Oregon and it was a delicious choice.

The room was impeccably clean and well-decorated, brand spanking new, with a great armchair with ottoman (my other must-have feature).

We used a service to get this room and got a true bargain, but I'd pay regular price.

Room Tip: We always ask for "away," from elevators, pool, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Kate,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Good luck on your book!

Sincerely,

SHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

From the moment you walk into the lobby, you feel welcome. Bright, inviting, clean area. Front desk staff very professional. Nice, large yet intimate, bar area. Large work out room, more equipment than most hotels I've stayed in. Atrium style Pool very nice. Even if you don't swim you can sit and watch the falling snow. I like that the towels are rolled up and set upon each individual lounge for the customers convenience. Of course, the Sheraton beds and pillows are wonderful, puffy white clouds of heaven. Room very clean and well stocked.
We are platinum members and therefore can take advantage of the club lounge. The breakfast is always a full breakfast, no need to go out. They offered quiche one day, another day scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, breads/pastries, granola, other cereals including oatmeal, fresh yogurt, AND a wonderful selection of fresh fruits cut up and ready to eat. The coffee machine is a plus, can make any variety of coffee you want. In the evening, again they do not disappoint. One or two hot dishes set out with a lovely cheese platter, veggies, 4 different types of nuts, and your choice of soft drinks. Obviously, their chef is a keeper!
This is probably the best Sheraton I've ever stayed in and we've been in a few. Overall, its the best
hotel I've ever stayed in especially in CT. Very pleasantly surprising for the geographical area. Did I mention the special room rates they offer are extremely customer friendly and appealing. Great place to stay even if you just want to treat yourself and get away for a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Thursday_12,

Thank you for psting such positive comments about your last stay at Sheraton Hartford South. We are thrilled that our guests enjoy the enhancements done to the Hotel last year.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Sheraton Hartford South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was recently staying at the sheraton south hartford for a weekend during my brothers hockey tournament.

This place is really clean, well managed, staff is great, fancy looking, great bar and lounge area, restaurant is very tasty, especially their special burger, oh and the best part of it all,,,,, you get starbucks coffee in your room!!

Very nice hotel to stay at, rooms seem to be newly renovated, you can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3806, Manager at Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JSaxe86,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We like that you enjoyed your experience at Sheraton hartford South, and look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,

Sheraton Hartford South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Hartford South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hartford South Hotel

Address: 100 Capital Boulevard, Rocky Hill, CT 06067 (Formerly Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Hartford South Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Hartford South Hotel is located close to Dinosaur State Park and Arboretum, golf courses, and popular shopping venues. We also offer guests over 8,600 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Hartford South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Rocky Hill Hotel Rocky Hill
Marriott Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hartford South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.