We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Early Bird Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saybrook Fish House

Saybrook Fish House
2165 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067-2342
860-721-9188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Rocky Hill
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cromwell, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Early Bird Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Was headed out shopping in a snowstorm and decided to abort and have an early dinner at the Saybrook Fish House and were glad we did.

With the time earlier than normal we were able to sample the early bird menu.

My wife had the Bouillabaisse entrée which was an excellent dish but on the spicy side.

I had the Angus sirloin which was very good.

The breads were served warm and are as good as you can get in a restaurant.

We went back into the snowstorm with our fruit basket and enjoying an a good dinner at an excellent price point from their early bird menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were in Rocky Hill for an overnight on our way to Boston. Large casual restaurant with several rooms. Noise level is high but we got used to it. Really good fresh seafood. Portions are huge, most people took part of the meal home. Delicious family style salad is complimentary as is after dinner fresh fruit platter. New England clam chowder & Fish house chowder were excellent. For entrees we had Mussels Florentine & a Seafood combo, both were delicious. We will return if we find ourselves in Rocky Hill again

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dried out Tilapia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have dined a few times in the past at the Saybrook Fish House and each time the food was good, though not spectacular. They do have good house dressings for their salad and the fruit for dessert is a nice touch, but the fish has just been average. Tonight, I had the Stuffed Tilapia, which was a special, and it was really not good. The fish was dried out and hard on the edges, though the stuffing was pretty good. It certainly did not live up to my expectations and I may not go back there in the future. I do think the restaurant while a little old looking is quite quaint and homey and a good place to visit with your dining companions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food - place needs updating and staff could be more attentive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good New England seafood but the ambience is lacking. Place could use a facelift. We had tilapia, swordfish and sea scallop dinners which were done nicely. Salad done family style was nice and fruit basket at the end of the meal was a nice touch. Staff at times seemed a bit pre-occupied talking amongst themselves and with local regulars in the bar. With a little uplift this place could take it up a notch and really shine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend while visiting another friend. So, this was a first visit.
The food was okay. However, I did have two concerns. One, although we arrived during brunch, we were given the dinner menu and had to ask specially for the Sunday Brunch Menu which we would not have known about except that friends had told us about it. Also, I ordered a special corn and crab chowder. I was disappointed as it seemed to be Manhattan chowder with a few pieces of corm and flakes of crab thrown in. The rest of the meal as well as the service was okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saybrook Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Saybrook Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saybrook Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.