We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopping through and found this treasure...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota of Rocky Hill

Dakota of Rocky Hill
1489 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
(860) 257-7752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Rocky Hill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
NJ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stopping through and found this treasure...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

It looks like a chain restaurant (a nice one) the exterior has a theme charm. But the food was surprisingly good! I had the wood plank trout. It has a smoky flavor and came out as a whole fish. It was 14.95, so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was wonderful! My husband loved his Teriyaki steak. The chef even came out and asked him to cut into it to make sure it was prepared as he liked it.

The sides (we had mashed potatoes) weren't that great but we ordered the salad bar and it was fresh and had a few nice items. Try the house dressing, tarragon ranch.

We has fun. As we just stopped the night on our way up to Boston, it was a fun little surprise to find this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
and the good news is, we aren't a chain. This is the only Dakota restaurant, glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great restaurant, Great food and prices were great compared to city prices, they also do a deal for 3 courses for 2 for $35 between 4pm and 5.30pm, this was the normal menue meals so good value, also wine special with this deal.

normal prices were great to fish and steaks first class. If your in the area dont miss this restauarant

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Fozzie. We appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed the special, it is a great deal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“True Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Prime Rib which was true Prime Rib. Not Ribeye making believe to be prime. Also ordered the ribeye (ironic, isn't it?) It was melt in your mouth tender. I got the "Dakota Cut" which was 1 of the best I've ever had! Best I've had in Ct. in last 12 years. Cooked perfectly as was the ribeye steak we also had. Potato was delicious as was the salad bar. Server was very kind, thorough and efficient. We had a 10.00 coupon for a birthday and it was no problem. Very cheerful, knew the menu and recommended the garlic mashed as not being "too garlicky" , which they weren't. Everything was as good as it could be. 2 top shelf dinners, 2 drinks, 2 coffees out the door under $55.00. We even were told that the coffee would be a few minutes....as it was being brewed fresh. Having run restaurants for many years, I would have hired Jaclyn M. in a heartbeat. As well as the nice young lady who seated us as well as the whole kitchen staff. I know I am going on and on, but this was 1 of the best dinners I've ever had. Please, if you have the chance, go. You must be okay with stuffed animals as they are everywhere. For sure, ribeye dinner or Prime Rib and you will be 100% satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Levi, thanks for the kind words. We believe we have the best prime rib around so it's great to get the affirmation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I liked the salad bar. I ordered a steak. It was fine at first, then I encountered grizzle. Once that happened, I did not enjoy the rest of the steak

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Vivian, that happens once in a while, even with hand cut, aged steaks. I wish you had something, we would have happily have gotten you another. Please introduce yourself on your next visit, we'll make amends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed using a gift card we received as a gift. There was a special going on at the time, so we saved even more. Good food, great salad bar, casual cabin-like decor. But, if you don't care for stuffed deer heads mounted on the walls, don't go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Dakota of Rocky Hill, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Endlessvacation, glad you enjoyed your meal, the person who gave you the gift card obviously had good taste! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate the good word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakota of Rocky Hill also viewed

 

Been to Dakota of Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota of Rocky Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.