We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hartford South

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Hartford South to your Saves list
Super 8 Hartford South
Super 8 Hartford South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Hartford South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1499 Silas Deane Highway, Exit 24, I-91, Rocky Hill, CT 06067   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Rocky Hill
Northampton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've stayed in a few Super 8's and they have always been good. Not this one! It was more expensive than others on my trip, repairs to the bathroom were not good,no microwave, no fridge/freezer, and no Bible. (And Gideons give them for free). Eating breakfast in the entrance lobby while others were going in and out was not a good experience. When we got there, on the front door was a sticker saying Trip Advisor Excellence. Not in my book it wasn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefazio, General Manager at Super 8 Hartford South, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
**This review was already posted by the same guest about 5 weeks ago!!**. The guest violated many guidelines with his previous review, and made dishonest remarks about our hotel and questioned our honesty/integrity. I PROPMTLY HAD HIS REVIEW REMOVED FROM YOUR SITE IMMEDIATELY. Just today, I see that the same guest had the nerve to post almost the same review again, although he deleted a few of his dishonest remarks. I WANT THIS REVIEW REMOVED ASAP, as I'm sure it must violate guidelines, when the same guest posts negative reviews just so he can tarnish our image and jeopardize future business. This is NOT RIGHT, and his account with TripAdvisor should be revoked. This is detrimental to not only our location, but to the Super 8 Brand as a whole. Please check my history, and you will learn that this very same guest posted a review that TripAdvisor deleted because they understood my valid points.
Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,
Justin Fazio (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    43
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
42
25
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Last night 11-26-13 I stayed at Super 8 in Rocky Hill CT. Mind you I paid $100 for a motel. I requested that I wanted a smoking room. Front desk clerk Trevor informed me there wasnt any available. I asked him if it was ok to smoke in the room, He said yes. Working at a hotel myself we dont charge for smoking in rooms just damages that Have to be paid for. Knowing I wasnt suppose to smoke in the room I bought a freshner from the store, left the window open all night (it was pouring check weather bug), and left the housekeeper, Darlene a $15 tip. I left out of that place before checkout and around 11am 11-27-13 I got a message from my bank stating $58 was credited off of my card! Appalled and confused I called and was informed the charge was for smoking. No damages or drug paraphernalia was present in this room. Justin who claimed to be the owner of the franchise motel was rude and very disrespectful. I believe he didnt even know what my complaint was because he would not stop talking over me. I feel this could have easily been disputed if he would have just went over rules and regulations with his staff thoroughly and credit back my card. He extorted money from me without my permission and that in my book is theft. I will go on to contact Super 8 company and inform them of what kind of person they have representing their company. Will never stay or look in the direction of a Super 8 EVER again. Happy Thankgsgiving to me right..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefazio, General Manager at Super 8 Hartford South, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
There are many problems with this review: Issue #1: the guest, Ms. Emanuel "clearly" smoked in her guestroom, as I personally came across the evidence. When I entered the room the following morning, it smelled of cigarette (and possibly pot) smoke, and additional evidence was present, as there was a can of "Smoke Eliminator Spray" right on the desk! I didn't say a word to my housekeeping staff, as I wanted them to see if they would smell the odor- they did, as my housekeeping Manager confirmed it. Issue #2: Ms. Emanuel WAS CLEARLY INFORMED UPON CHECKING IN (I confirmed with Trevor the next morning) THAT WE HAD NO SMOKING ROOMS AVAILABLE, and that she COULD NOT SMOKE in a non-smoking room. In addition, we post a sign in the room informing the guest that they're in a non-smoking room. Issue #3: what does raining outside have anything to do with complying to our no smoking policy? It simply begs the question whether Ms. Emanuel was too inconsiderate to go outside in the rain to smoke? Issue #4: We don't charge $100 per room (gives potential guests the impression that we're overpriced or price gouging). Issue #5: What does her place of work at another hotel have any bearing on our hotel smoking policy? Issue #6: Our registration clearly card states: If found smoking in a non-smoking room, you will be assessed a cleaning fee of $100. Ms. Emanuel signed the reg card. I only charged her $50 as I was trying to be fair under the circumstances. Please have this review removed immediately as I proved there are many dishonest, irrelevant, and misguided points in her review that can only damage our esteemed reputation and possibly hinder future business. Thank you for your time and consideration. Sincerely, Justin Fazio (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

While I did not personally stay there i made arrangements for a group of unknown size to do so. Justin, the General Manager was very helpful (so was the other Justin) and saved a group of rooms for us even though I was unsure of whether there would be 5 or 15 rooms needed. As it turned out 11 rooms were rented.

All of the people in our group were very compliementary about the hotel and their rooms which had been recently renovated. Several mentioned they were surprised at how nice the hotel was. They expected clean but that it was well beyond that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Hartford South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hartford South

Address: 1499 Silas Deane Highway, Exit 24, I-91, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hartford South 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Super 8 Hartford South servicing the greater Hartford area. Pamper yourself with new Sealy Posturepedic mattress, climate control, 32 inch LCD flat panel TV, 60+ channels including HBO. Free upgrades based upon availability include DVD player, microwave-refrigerator-freezer units, iPod docking station, vessel sink over maple vanity, and private balcony. Efficiency units available. Fitness Center. Business Center. Meeting Room. Multiple on site restaurants. We are a PET-FRIENDLY hotel, pet boarding and grooming services on site. Please come visit us at Exit 24 off I-91. "Your bed is ready!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Hartford South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hartford South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.