We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Holly House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Wises Lane, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Borden B&B and Inns
Rybnik, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A short stay with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were in Holly House only a few days. But it were very special moments. Jane is very friendly and helpful person. As a result, her house is very specific. The rooms are very clean and decorated very specific. Every piece of furniture has a story, comes with some end of the world. Jane willingly tells the story of even the smallest item. Jane's breakfast was delicious and very varied to day rough it something new. Thank you for a nice stay. I hope that there will be the opportunity to spend the night at Holly House.

Thank you Jane,

Simon, Henry, Wiesiek and Marcin

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. I appreciate your time and effort in compiling your review. I'm sure it would have been far easier in your native Polish. It was lovely to meet you all and share your stories, food samples and jokes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We always stay with Jane at Holly House when we visit our friends in Sittingbourne.
The welcome is delightful Jane is a genuine person who cares about you and goes the extra mile to ensure everything is done to make your stay perfect.
The rooms are clean, bright and airy, and the breakfast is brilliant.
Situated in a quiet village Holly House is an ideal stay for everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much - its always a pleasure to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at Holly House on various accessions over the last 12 months and found Jane extremely warm and friendly owner. Very clean accommodation and the room had everything necessary for my stay and will ensure that you feel welcome and comfortable.
The breakfast are extensive and well prepared.
I would recommend Holly House every time and look forward to a return stay in the near future.

Pat

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Good luck in your new job and I hope it brings you back to Kent and Holly House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in this lovely B&B with my Husband, Jane the owner welcomed us with a warm smile and made us feel at home instantly with a pot of tea and some homemade biscuits. Our room was large, bright and warm with a lovely view of her garden and the countryside beyond.

Our bed was huge and comfy and with the en-suite bathroom/dressing room was perfect for our needs. The hospitality tray overfilled with every type of hot beverage you can think of, teas, coffees and hot chocolates, fresh milk and biscuits.

Breakfast is enormous and the choice is endless, nothing is too much for this hostess as she is more than happy to cook what ever you would like and however you would like it cooked. Fresh Fruit, Yogurts, Cereals, Fruit Juice, Various Nuts, Marmalade, Honey or Jam as much Toast and Tea, Coffee or both if you would prefer, Fresh Homemade Bread and of course a full English .

This lady also offers an Evening Meal if required and we took her up on her offer, wow, nothing was cooked as expected and although it was a standard Sunday Roast, it was amazing and the flavours and her cooking skills were wonderful, there was nothing "standard" about it.

This was our first visit and it was a working weekend, we used her internet, which was fast and we were more than happy with it. We intend to return next year when we are in the area once more for work.

Jane even gave us very clear instructions on how to get to our business venue, she is very knowledgable about the area.

If you are reading this Jane, many thanks for your hospitality and your kindness and we hope to see you again.

Michael & Sheree

Room Tip: I am sure which ever room you choose, will be perfect for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your extensive review and sparing the time to actually write one. I know you are very busy people. I look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from my second visit to Holly House after a stay of six nights. I found the owner Jane to be very accommodating to my every need, the food was varied, fresh and tasty I even tried things I don't eat at home!!My room was clean and comfortable. The surrounding in and around the village was beautiful with open spaces and plenty of places to walk,
I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anybody.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back catch the sun first but the rooms at the front will see the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you - I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your eating experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed with Jane at Holly house during August 2012 while the Olympics were on. As previous reviewers have said, nothing was too much trouble for Jane at any time and she was a wonderful repository of local knowledge and advice, from places to eat to walking/running paths nearby. In the bigger picture, Jane researched the travel options for us to get to the Olympic venues and even had advice on parking at the station as well as a great deal of local tourism information!
The Holly House breakfast room is legendary in its diversity and Jane will happily accomodate all dietary requirements or tendencies and is very perceptive in noting what people like and do not like and she is justifiably proud of the high standard she sets.

The bedrooms are recently constructed and facilities in excellent condition. Jane also went out of her way to help us with the volume of luggage the four of us had for a longer holiday. She made us feel very much at home and that clearly has been the experience of other guests. We were able to use other rooms in the house to feel comfortable.
Holly House is set in the countryside and one would need a car to get around. It took a bit over an hour to drive from Heathrow. Sittingbourne has reasonable shopping options and again Jane's local knowledge and advice were accurate, unbiased and practical. This part of Kent is very pretty and it is close to seaside towns while still being an hour by train from London. The local village of Borden is very pretty and there is a pub an easy walk from Holly House!
It would be difficult to fault Holly House in any way and that is reflected in the Star ratings. I know this sounds like a paid review but it is all very genuine, like the proprietor herself.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It was wonderful to share the Olympics which such a smashing family.
I look forward to watching your sons progress - 2016 Rio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very clean accommodation that was prepared beautifully and the room had everything necessary for a weekend stay. Jane was so welcoming and happy to chat over a cup of tea. Great breakfast too - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holly House and for your comments. I am pleased my home met with your approval. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Wises Lane, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne > Borden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Borden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean, beautifully decorated home which offers a warm welcome and a cheerful memorable stay. Award winning breakfasts using a variety of local and home produced foods. 5* accommodation in a semi rural setting. Off road parking. Evening meals, packed lunches,small business/personal meetings by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.