We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of luc's cafe

luc's cafe
3 Big Shop Ln, Ridgefield, CT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 86 Restaurants in Ridgefield
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Its a cave like at ambience, Kind of funky with the waiting game. Card plays, If you are nbr UNO, you are the ace card and so on.
Food is good bistro. Always there. Good

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience at Luc's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Absolutely loved the atmosphere at Luc's . The bistro has a great cozy and lively feel -- Love the low beamed ceilings, stone walls, colors, and overall layout of the place --

We went late on a Saturday night - without reservations -- had a bit of a wait - but people were friendly -- it was fun just watching the host and talking to other people waiting.

Food highlight of the night was the Lamb Shank -( excellent!) .. My partner ordered the steak frites. The frites were excellent. The steak was good (but not as good as the lamb).

Looking forward to trying other things on their menu. Also looking forward to coming back with friends -- great place for a small group ..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Bonne Luc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've now been to Luc's three times in the last month on business and I'll happily go back for more. The food is authentic, wonderful French bistro fare. Among my favorites -- the duck, skirt steak, and oh my, the mussels. Every daily special I've had has also been a winner. Wine list is very nice and reasonably priced. Live music on Wednesday nights. Walking in is not the easiest, even sitting at the little bar/lounge in front, so if you're without reservations try going early. But it's a fun, intimate place that would fit in very nicely in West Village, Lower East Side, etc. -- all the better that it's in Ridgefield.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is one of our favorites. If you like mussels then you will love these. There is live music a couple of times per week. The staff is knowledgable about the wine list and very helpful. They know what we like and often offer fantastic selections that we end up loving and ordering again. In the summer you can dine outside and enjoy the evening. The owner has eclectic taste in music which to me adds ambiance to the place. Don't miss out on this gem of Ridgefield CT.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best in ridgefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i have lived in Ridgefield for over 4 years. Restaurants have come and gone. I think the best in town is Luc,s. Friendly service, great wine, and delicious food. My favorite is the house cote du rhone,and the roasted chicken. The sole menuiere is also delicious as well as the steamed mussels.Luc's is a must try

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed luc's cafe also viewed

 
Ridgefield, CT
Ridgefield, CT
 

Been to luc's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage luc's cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.