We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superlative Extended Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lane Inn

West Lane Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Lane Inn
22 West Lane, Ridgefield, CT 06877   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ridgefield B&B and Inns
St. catharines, Ont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“A Superlative Extended Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Family circumstances resulted in the opportunity to visit the delightful town of Ridgefield for an extended period. We elected to stay at the West Lane Inn for a 30 days, and we could not have been more pleased. We are not necessarily "easy to please" people but we have nothing but compliments for theowner, staff, and accomodations at West Lane Inn. We stayed in Room 401 of the annex which was a lage bright room with a small kitchenette, large bathroom, patio, and access to a back yard. The room was cleaned 3x/week and we never had to be concerned about cleanliness. Breakfast was served cheerfully by friendly staff who were always willing to share insights on where to shop, what to see, and were happy to provide resources as needed. Breakfast was highlighted by a fresh fruit cup and freshly squeezed orange juice (Where did I ever get that before??) with a choice of cereals and fresh coffee. The Inn, built in 1849, maintains a dignified decor true to it's era.

I cannot recommend this Inn more highly. Kudos to Debbie and her staff for providing such a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
quito
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice experience. Deborah was attentive. The room on the first floor was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. The fireplace was active when we arrived which added a nice touch to the room. Nicely located with a short walk to a lovely New England town.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We had room 204, a corner room on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, comfortable, and had character (including creaky floors). There's no elevator, but they offered to take our bags up to the room. The walk into town for dinner was very nice. Breakfast downstairs was simple but good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We love this place! About twice a year, my work brings me back to Southwestern Connecticut—and, more often than not, my wife is able to join me on these trips. We just returned from a five-day stay at this inn. The West Lane Inn has become our favorite “bed and breakfast”, and we always choose it when business or pleasure takes us to this part of the country.

The inn is located just outside the center of Ridgefield, making it convenient for getting to the excellent local restaurants or to various historical and natural attractions. For business purposes, it’s an easy drive to Danbury, Stamford, and White Plains.

The rooms are very comfortable, with good heating controls, a refrigerator, flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, etc. The staff are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The breakfast room is bright and attractive.

If you’re planning a trip to Fairfield County, CT (or Westchester County, NY)—and if you’re looking for a quiet, comfortable inn—you couldn’t do better than this one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent a weekend at the West Lane Inn a couple of weeks ago and what a delightful, relaxing, welcoming experience! The owner made us feel so comfortable, like we were old friends. The decor is charming, the room comfortable and well-appointed, and the common areas clean, bright, and definitely upscale. It reminded me of some of the small boutique hotels we've enjoyed in NYC but with the 'plus' of being located in a drop-dead gorgeous New England town. We highly recommend the Inn for a lovely getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just back from a crisp, beautiful winter weekend in Ridgefield, Connecticut - perfect except for a disappointing stay at The West Lane Inn.

Ridgefield is a stunningly picturesque town made even more so under 3" of fresh snow. The little town center is beautiful and the homes on Main Street are incredible, so we were excited for a little exploration. We arrived at the hotel after a few hours of travel and were hungry for a late lunch. The restaurant next door had finished serving at 2 (go figure), so the nice lady who checked us in handed us a folder of menus from restaurants we could order in from. But because we had five hours to kill before the party we were in town for, and the common areas of the Inn are an artful combination of floral upholstered Ethan Allen repros and all the comforts of a bus station waiting room, we thought a foray into town would be a better option.

The friend I was with, was just off a week of business travel so only had a pair of business lace-ups on his feet. When we realized what a mile walk through a lot of snow, on unshoveled sidewalks would be like for him, we asked if there was a taxi to call - nope. How about anyone who could give us a quick ride the mile in - ummm, no. Really? I mean, it would have taken 8 minutes round trip; I'd give a stranger a ride in that situation, but nope, not for a badly prepared guest at this warm and inviting little inn. Fast forward to one pair of ruined shoes and a comically slippery but not so fun walk to what turned out to be a great little restaurant, and we were wondering what was up with the service ethic at The West Lane Inn.

The office closes for the night at 6pm at the inn which means after that time, no access to the movies they offer for you to watch, no one to ask a question of, and unfortunately for our friends who arrived at 6:30pm that night and who had paid extra for a fireplace - no wood for said fireplace. It was under lock and key in the office. Now if you ask me, if you charge extra for a fireplace, but don't care enough about your guests to place a few pieces of wood in their room so they can actually use the thing, its not just shoddy service, its bad manners.

The room they were in was lovely - mine was something out of a home for the aged circa 1986. Not terrible, just tired. A whole lotta flowers on the wallpaper, the curtains, everyplace the same flower pattern. Laura Ashley gone berserk. And possibly interred under the covers - the way they made the bad was creepy.

When we walked downstairs this morning, the same parsimonious coffee service was at the ready that we had seen the night before, a large canister of coffee-mate dried powder in lieu of a real milk product there for our use. Powdered milk is so yummy. And strangely not a whiff of a baked good. There was no warmth whatsoever about the place and that was further underscored when we checked out.

The person behind the desk, who I assume was the owner, was perfunctory and had an air about her that suggested we were an annoyance. What she got was about $700 for three rooms we booked during the off-season - we didn't even get a smile. She also made me feel like an idiot when I let her know that the dimmer switch in my bathroom was missing its knob. She said "The DIMMER? What DIMMER? Do you mean the dimmer LIGHT?" Yes, I did mean the dimmer light. I had no idea the rooms had such an abundance of dimmer paraphernalia that I needed to be that specific, but she straightened me out. And I feel like a better person for it.

Ridgefield is totally worth the trip, and maybe The West Lane Inn is a more welcoming place to stay in the summer, but it's not a hotel I'd go back to and definitely not worth $200 for an overnight stay.

Lots of funny stories though.

Room Tip: Room 102 was nice - big four poster bed and a nice (woodless) fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here recently with friends. Had a very nice time. Rooms are large enough that you are not feeling overcrowded. Owners are very friendly and accomodating. Everything was clean and tastefully decorated. Setting is very pretty. I have family in the area and travel there frequently. I've stayed at another nearby inn in the past and will choose the West Lane in the future. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlaneinn, Owner at West Lane Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers about our inn. We appreciate your comments, and are pleased that you would choose the West Lane Inn for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lane Inn

Address: 22 West Lane, Ridgefield, CT 06877
Location: United States > Connecticut > Ridgefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Lane Inn, built in 1849, combines the charm of an intimate country inn with the conveniences found in a large hotel. The inn is situated in the historic district about 1/2 mile to downtown Ridgefield. The town of Ridgefield is quaint, scenic and alive with cultural and historical sights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Lane Hotel Ridgefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Lane Inn to your Saves list