We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, nice specials - good for take out too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Door Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cellar Door Bistro
439 Main Street, Ridgefield, CT 06877
203-438-2500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 87 Restaurants in Ridgefield
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cellar Door Bistro has a unique style that brings American food to new levels. The menu was developed and inspired with an Italian influence and has both traditional and non-traditional items that are sure to please you. The master chef has an extremely comprehensive background that will always amaze you with both flavor and superb presentation. His desire to please customers of the Bistro always come through in the quality and presentation of the fabulous dishes.The beautiful decor of the restaurant has been developed by designers to have an upscale European Bistro feel with subdued lighting that will relax you upon arrival. The wine bar and lounge area was developed to be both fun and conservative at the same time. This has become a very popular spot for the gathering of couples, friends and singles since the inception. The staff and management are extremely personable with the desire to please, which is the restaurants main goal at all times.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nice specials - good for take out too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have been here a number of times this year and the food and service arey are both consistently very good. There menu is very varied, not just the usual pizza/pasta place. Nice seafood dishes. The salmon with risotto is very yummy. Good cocktails. The only thing is it can getting really noisy later at night, especially if you are seated near the bar area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield ct
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable place to take guests, or have a quiet meal out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been to the Cellar Door Bistro many times. First on our own, then with out of town guests. The docor is quietly understated. The service is attentive. I've had burgers, pasta dishes, fish and more there. The servings are nice, not too much, nor too little - kind of what you'd take if you were serving yourself. Food has, in our visits been very good, prices are very reasonable and the service has been uniformly good.

It is our 'go to' place, when we want a quiet meal out, or want to take guests out in town. We recommend it highly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a try for quality dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Haven't tried their brunch, which is highly lauded here, but have sampled both lunch and dinner several times since their opening. The food quality is better than average and the menu is expansive, with many sound choices. The service staff don't seem to have developed any unfriendly habits and the wine list seems competent. As noted, Friday nights can be very noisy due to an active bar crowd and prices are on the high side. If lowest cost is not the goal, this nice restaurant, in the CVS parking lot, would make a nice choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We've lived in the area for 10+ years and still haven't lost our city dwellers' love of brunch. Sadly, a good brunch was a hard thing to come by in Ridgefield. Until now. Cellar Door just rolled out a new brunch menu and it is wonderful! There's nothing like it locally -- phenomenal assortment of sweet dishes, savory things, and lighter plates. We had pastrami hash Benedict (poached egg with hollandaise over a potato latke, topped with homemade pastrami hash); biscuits stuffed with gravy and homemade sausage; and a creamed spinach and artichoke Benedict. Every dish was outstanding. (They also make a killer Bloody Mary, garnished with a little antipasto skewer of nibbles, which is a classy touch.) We walked away very happy and looking forward to coming back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always a great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I think this is hands down the best pizza in Ridgefield. This place also has great food as well. We always look forward to going here!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Door Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Cellar Door Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Door Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.