We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Little for Too Much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bailey's Backyard

Bailey's Backyard
23 Bailey Ave, Ridgefield, CT 06877-4505
203-431-0796
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bailey's Backyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 86 Restaurants in Ridgefield
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An American Farm To Table Restaurant featuring locally sourced produce and meats. Recently remodeled and rebranded
Orleans, Ma.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too Little for Too Much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Bailey's is striving for a newer, more relevant image. Always a cozy neighborhood restaurant, it presents now as understated, a little industrial looking, which is currently a hot trend but which we felt was at odds with the message behind the food-farm to table. It will appeal to some folks but not to others. The good news......and there is a lot. The service was excellent and the choices we made were mostly delicious. Half of us had seafood, and half had meat. All good. And now the bad news.....The portions were so small that most of us were able to finish our entrees in under 20 bites! We shared a dessert which was barely enough for one. I admire Sal, and I think he will get it together. He has to do better on prices or on portion size. I would wait a while before I gave it another try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow what a difference.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect so much from coming in. The front of the restaurant was unfinished and a bit scary. But let me say now - unbelievable food, service, wine and cocktails. We had many offerings from the menu and sampled the menu as much as we could. Everything was great. Went in with friends and the server was eloquent and very attentive. The chicken was fall off the bone and delicious. The scallops tasted like they came right out of the water and on the plate.
I walked in once before the redo and then... Walked right out again, its now a beautiful space. They cared about the refurbishment. Hands down some if the best food we've had in a long time. I've never even thought about posting a review here but after going and seeing the changes; I thought it would be not right not to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Painful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

New menu based on local farm availability. Offerings were inconsistent though a couple of the dishes were very good.Tasting menu offered, good concept. Service was painfully slow and the wait for the meal even slower. Portions were small and pricey. Left hungry. They have to get the kinks out of their operation. It will be a while before I return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It's closed now for renewal!!! Good solid modern menu, good decor. Food is steadily good. Great salads for lunches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went there for a business dinner with a colleague, first time for us both. The food was really quite good -- we split a goat cheese salad (tasty), I went with the cioppino (very tasty, lots of flavor, heavy on the shellfish), and my colleague had the salmon (very good as well). Very cozy and comfortable, nice wine card, solid service. Will go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Backyard also viewed

 

Been to Bailey's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailey's Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.