We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient casino location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Watson Rd, Preston, CT 06365   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“convenient casino location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location (proximity to casinos) and the free casino shuttle are the biggest pluses for this hotel. Also, the room prices are about half of what you'll pay at the casino hotels. It is your basic Hilton so you can expect pleasant and clean rooms and lobby, efficient check in/out, and professional staff.
I waiver between "average" and "very good" ratings for this hotel because of a few (mostly minor) things. Once in our room, I noticed we didn't have enough towels, and the tissue box and toilet paper were low. To the credit of the hotel, a staff member delivered these items within 5 minutes of my requesting them. The next morning I realized our coffee maker didn't work and had to go to lobby to get some (minor, but annoying). When going to the room for the night, I realized my door hadn't locked upon closing it (would only lock from inside) which was very upsetting because my two older daughters had gone to the room earlier to go to sleep. I let the front desk know the next morning and they were going to send a locksmith up right away (we checked out so I never saw if the lock was repaired). If you're a night person and like to have a drink at your hotel bar after a night at the casino, realize that the Hilton bar closes at 1am. We went to the bar and got a drink just before it closed and went to sit by the outdoor fire pit. We watched as several people returned to the hotel and went to the bar and were surprised that it was closed. Within 15 minutes, a hotel staff person turned off the fire pit flame and said the area was closed for the night and asked everyone there to leave (there were only 4 people around the pit and no one was noisy in any way). I'm sure it's an effort to keep late night partying to a limit but they should use their discretion and enforce their "closing time" rule when it is necessary to do so. The shuttle is a great service but it needs to be run a little better. We were the first outside to wait for the shuttle as more and more people started to come and wait. A small van showed up and said he was going to Mohegan Sun--except for one couple, everyone was waiting for a shuttle to Foxwoods. A little argument started with the van driver but then ended when another van pulled up. The van was too small for all the people waiting so some people couldn't get on (don't know how that was handled). The van we were to take back to our hotel was completely full and pulled away before we could ask when the next one would be there (when booking our reservation, we were told that they come every 1/2 hour). Since we were all tired and saw available taxis, we decided to take one back instead of wait for the next shuttle. Good thing we did, we saw the next shuttle get in at 1am (one hour after the last one) so the $8 taxi fare was worth it.
Putting those things aside, if you're not going to stay right at the casinos, this hotel is the next best thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    100
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
57
208
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mount wolf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Elegant entrance with cookies and cold drinks waiting. Very clean room and spacious. Pool on the small size but was refreshing. Enjoy the hot tub outside. We also ate breakfast at the hotel which was $11.25 a person but you could get whatever you wanted and as much as you wanted. Fresh prepared. We did not do the casino but it is close by with tons of things to do. We ate at the Hard Rock Cafe in the Casino which was very good and not super expensive. The hotel stay was very nice with friendly service.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King size room with lots of room. It came with microwave and refrigerator. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel during Memorial day weekend with kids. Clean room and hotel; kids loved in-door pool and outside hot tub in the evenings after the busy day out. Great breakfast bufet, the only complaint-flies were everywhere, very annoying considering we were eating inside. Room service-good food, more healthy kids choices would be better though. 20 minute drive from Mystic posrt and aquarium.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Loved your hotel. We have given the best rating on your survey for every area. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. The shuttle to and from the casino's is wonderful so that after traveling a distance, travelers don't need to worry about how to get to the casino's. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn located less that a mile from the Casino. Very friendly staff, convenient shuttle to and from the casino, and spotless hotel. We had a small problem with our room, but it was due to the new-ness of the hotel, and was fixed. Nice A/C, internet and Television in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was definitely ripped off for what I paid for! We all went to Foxwoods and the shuttle service was not always reliable, we weren't sure where they were supposed to pull up and so we were waiting in the wrong spot when it first came, and then the second time it came around so many people rushed to the van that we had no seats so we had to wait for the THIRD shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staff was great. Rooms modern and clean. The rooms are small. Unfortunately there were no adjoining rooms for a family of 4 to share. I would stay again but get 2 rooms for my family. Cookies in the lobby were a hit with my kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area

Address: 5 Watson Rd, Preston, CT 06365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.