We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, large home but in need of maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Grant's, 1754

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Grant's, 1754 to your Saves list
Captain Grant's, 1754
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   109-111 Route 2A, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Preston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice, large home but in need of maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice owners who were hospitable and friendly enough but the house was a bit too "rustic" for me. The linens were not clean and neither were the bathrooms or floors. I stayed here for a bachelorette party so it wasn't much concern to me but had I gone with my significant other, I would have been pretty appalled at the rooms. I also have to be critical of the breakfast. It IS a b&b after all. The breakfast was unremarkable, with the pancakes being some of the blandest I've ever had.

It wasn't all bad though, there's a great room with a pool table and fireplace for relaxing and the kitchen is large and gorgeous. Also, the bedrooms are large and have a lot of character. I would be remiss not to mention that they shoveled off the cars after a pretty healthy snow storm. That was classy. All in all I think a few adjustments would easily make this place worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    27
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
84
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th Anniversary Nov, 2013 and stayed in the Elizabeth room at Captain Grants. The owners Carol and Ted were wonderful, the breakfast every morning was delicious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It is in a great location if you are visiting the Casino's. We would definately go back and stay with them again we took home some of Carol's homemade jams and they were delicious. We would recommend Captain Grants if you are planning a trip to that area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are visiting this area of CT, casinos, wineries, mystic.....you will be very pleased at this great B&B...rooms are nicely decorated, with complimentary cherry, not to mention the beer and wine in the 1st floor refrigerator. The service ..one word ...fantastic...they could not do enough for us. The breakfast...WOW..eggs, pancakes, hash, etc. we will be back for certain.
Oh yeah...Although it is Haunted, we did not see anything

Room Tip: We will be going back...for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Came here to this lively bed and breakfast to be close to Foxwoods and Mohegan sun casinos on a two day trip.
It was my first time staying at any type of bed and breakfast so I was not sure what to expect
We was greeted by tom when we arrived and from then on everyone one was wonderful and the breakfasts was awsum
I will be returning here for sure when I come down to the area

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

had a wonderful 2 night stay here....... with wonderful owners ....and the staff very polite and helpfull, the breakfast food was awsum.. and always had snacks available.......
will defenitely return here to this lovely home when i am in the area......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hosts, convivial atmosphere, wonderful breakfast, full of character. My only criticism of the Inn would be slightly musty smelling towels. However this is a very old property and its character, wonderful social breakfasts and location massively outweigh the criticism.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hello this is Cheryl Andros, I wanted to thank Ted and Carol for a trip I'll never forget. Ted and Carol are two of the nicest people I've ever met! To me they became like Family and we are going back . By no means is the Inn dirty and I am a clean fanatic! It's beautiful inside and out.

I can't wait to go back. God Bless you both Carol and Ted! and see you soon.Cheryl and Dave Andros. I know David wrote another review just as good but, I wanted to write one of my own.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Captain Grant's, 1754? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Grant's, 1754

Address: 109-111 Route 2A, Poquetanuck, Preston, CT 06365
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Grant's, 1754 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Grant's, 1754 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Grant`s, 1754 Hotel Preston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Grant's, 1754, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.