We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Park Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strawberry Park Resort
Save Saved
You added Strawberry Park Resort to your Saves list
42 Pierce Road, Preston, CT 06365   |  
Hotel amenities
Franklin Square, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family and I take a trip every year to strawberry park and it never disappoints! This resort is a very family oriented place, with loads of activities for everyone! The staff is friendly and very attentive. They are strict with their rules but it is only to keep you an your family safe and guarantee everyone will have a fantastic stay. Restrooms and grounds are kept very clean. i would recommend going for one of their theme weekends, the halloween weekend is great.I plan on booking my next stay very soon and i can definitely say that i will continue to come every year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    19
    13
    16
See reviews for
78
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Bunch of kids working. Not looking out for the safety of the guest it's Just a job. Kids running around none of the activities are organized anymore never on time. They added sites in the parking lot on gravel horrible place for them to
be around visitor parking. I believe this will be our last year here not worth the money anymore. Just because you have 3 pools doesn't mean its, a, resort. You cant offer 5 star with 1 star employees.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielson
1 review
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Have been coming here for 23 years, and it has gone down hill. The staff is all young kids and you get the expression it's just a job for them and do not like to interact with the children. Trying to ask a question they act like they don't want to be bothered. The creamery tried to close a couple times an hour early when there was a line of people waiting. The arcade is a joke they took a lot of games out and lot of the games left are out of service. What happened to the activities yes they still have a few but they took a lot of the children activities out including bike race, running races, limbo, bomb fire with band, they have the teens dance under the rec which was empty, bingo is empty most nights. They are gearing it more towards teens and adults. And they only give out ribbons for a few events and no adult ribbons. I have to say I'm not very pleased with the changes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family went to Strawberry Park this last weekend. We had heard great things but unfortunately felt it did not live up to its hype.
3 pools so close together we felt like we were at a motel, and so crowded. Only 2 bathroom facilities, large, but not well maintained as far as cleanliness and smelled bad as soon as you walked by. Security staff almost non-existent, and at the gates you could just go through the open gate in your car. They give you a tag for your windshield but no one checked it or even looked after we arrived. Their creamery had run of the mill food, nothing special.
This was 4th of July weekend, and prime $$, $100/night with 2 dogs, 2 kids and full hookup
You had to purchase Wifi, but such poor reception it was not worth it at all. Camp store run of the mill. Many young adults working there, not very helpful attitudes. Activities had an egg toss contest, and the camp supplied the eggs, nice, but the next day they we still not picked up, shells and eggs all over the side of field, smelling and looking bad in the hot sun.

Now the positives: we did have a large shady site. Activities are their thing they do the best, every hour from the morning until late, bingo every day with large prizes on Sat. Ceramics were nice but the man only stayed for 2 hours. Their ice cream was very good and inexpensive. Their new pet friendly policy worked for us. If it hadn't been for that, we would not have gone.

All in all, very expensive. Could have gone to a hotel for that, I think we'll pass and go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Yes, Dave is gone, yes I miss him. But lets be honest, SP is still a wonderful place to go. TONS of activities, awesome bands and DJ's and just all around a great atmosphere. I highly recommend visiting, I know you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
1 review
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The new staff was not terrible but the guy calling bingo was driving away people. new prize system for holloween was terrable most full timers did not even decorate, We spoke to many of the yearly site owners and they were very unhappy. it seems like the new owners have staff members writing reviews to boost up good reviews, They should send apoligy letters to all for changing things so bad with no heads up, they need to put controls back in place like stopping the golf cart racing going on. could go on all night but people will judge for themselves

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just got back from Halloween Weekend 4 at Strawberry Park as we have done for 20 years. I have to agree that the new management needs a little more time to tweak the changes they have started to make. Change is always hard and risky but without it things grow stale. Overall it was a great experience as always. Personally I liked the laminated certificates and the trophies. I'm not sure if there were "real prizes" (I assume this means $ to spend at grill or store?) but if there weren't that is something that should be brought back. A $5 to $20 gift certificate to the store isn't going to break the bank and kids get excited about spending their prize. Good idea to move dance inside and for all ages - some years it was hard to attend the adult dance because couldn't leave kids and weren't supposed to bring with. Great that the upstairs hall is now open with pool tables, ping pong, reading corner, etc., HOWEVER.., it MUST have staff supervision. When we were there for the dance a group of pre-teen boys stepped on and broke all the ping pong balls, plus ripped the netting. Haunted maze per the teenage girls I was with needs some work.They only went in once whereas in years past they went through the haunted hall many times. Bonfire needs music or something - can only watch wood buring for so long. Movie night on Friday evening in place of the Friday night bingo was a nice change but please bring back Sunday late morning Bingo. Staff was overall pleasant and informative but not very enthusiastic. Make some jokes, crack a smile, encourage particpation. Not sure when they stopped trash pick up but obviously many people were unaware of the change because trash bags were left at curb in many places - I can forsee this being a problem in the summer of if you have less environmentally responsible people camping, Can it really cost that much to have staff pick up trash with the tractor daily?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strawberry Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Park Resort

Address: 42 Pierce Road, Preston, CT 06365
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Preston
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Park is a 160 acre campground nestled in the heart of southeastern Connecticut, in a region of lakes, streams and ocean beaches, conveniently located near all the major points of interest, and only 5 miles off I-395 or 15 miles from I-95. Strawberry Park offers a wide variety of campsites, ranging from open lawns, wooded and shaded sites, some close to the facilities, while others are more secluded. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Park Hotel Preston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.