We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Familia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vathy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Familia
Save
You added Hotel Familia to your Saves list
Odysseus 60, Vathy 28300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Vathy B&B and Inns
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

best place best people!we stayed for a week at this lovely hotel and we had such a wonderfull time!!everything was great...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
37
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A very nice hotel with excellent design in Ithaka very reasonable price and good breakfast.
Owner and staff are very hospitable and friendly and they are worth the hotel name 'Familia'
When i'll have the chance I'll visit it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

One week in here and I didnt want to leave. This hotel has been so welcoming and warm towards myself and my family. The staff is very friendly; excellent breakfast; extremely clean rooms; perfect location (right in the center). When I decide to come again next year I will be sure to book this months ahead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent the last 5 nights of our honeymoon on the beautiful island Ithaka at Hotel Familiar.
This stylish small hotel is an old olive press which has been beautifully converted recently.
It is a short walk from the seafront in Vathy which has a number a excellent restaurants serving fresh fish. Vathy makes a good base to explore the rest of this lovely island. The thing that made this hotel for us were the friendly staff and the wonderful breakfasts which we ate in their pretty courtyard. Each morning Christina brought us different home baked treats, all of which were delicious. They have bikes you can borrow as well as sun umbrellas for the beach. I have already mentioned this little gem to a number of friends and family. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Spent a night at Hotel Familia as a treat to ourselves whilst touring Ithaka and it proved to be one of the best 'treats' we've ever had! The old olive press building has been converted so sympathetically and the result is beautiful to behold and lovely to stay in. Christina and Makis were both extremely welcoming and their recommendation of a nearby restaurant (Libretto) was excellent for dinner. Will definitely be going back and will recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Familia for a week in June and had a wonderful time.
The location is very central - just a few minutes walk to the main square with everything you need close to hand, restaurants, bars and shops all within a stones throw.

The hotel itself is lovely, a nice boutique B&B with very comfy beds and a good breakfast spread. The main highlight of the stay however, is definitely the faultless hospitality. The attention to detail made our stay feel very special - from personal touches at breakfast through to helping us host a party for our friends getting married, Christina and Makis could not have made us feel more welcome!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

During my 3 week vacation in Greece, I had the occasion to spend a week in Ithaki, the greater part of which saw me accommodated in the Hotel Familia, Vathy’s historic Olive Press, most extraordinarily converted into a boutique hotel. What a beautiful experience! Not only has the conversion of this 19th Century building been done with care and consideration, the design sympathetically incorporates the latest conveniences and modern amenities.
It was the first and only accommodation I encountered in Greece where the TV, its remote control unit, the air conditioner and its remote control unit, and the WI-FI internet were all functional, simultaneously. Furthermore, taking a shower also does not flood the entire bathroom. Besides the great detail attention given to the integration of old and new with regard to the conversion, the interior design and finishing is greatly complemented and enhanced by eco-friendly COCO-MAT linen and bedding, ensuring luxurious towels and bedding providing a really good night’s sleep. This attention to detail and respect for the environment that Hotel Familia’s proprietors have adopted, is further shown in the provision of bicycles for guest’s use at no extra cost.
Our booking included breakfast and once again Hotel Familia proved exceptional. It should be pointed out that co-proprietor and host Mrs. Christine Kostides, provided a unique spread of homemade and baked treats every morning. Just as well there are bicycles to cycle off some of the gorgeous Greek cakes and sweet treats. Mrs. Kostides is very knowledgeable of the island and its history and prepared to help in exceptional ways to make your stay not only comfortable, but also memorable. Thank-you so much!

Room Tip: All 7 rooms are well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Familia

Address: Odysseus 60, Vathy 28300, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Ithaca > Vathy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Familia is situated in the port of Vathy on the island of Ithaka and is housed in a completely renovated 1890's olive press.All visitors have the opportunity to enjoy an exceptional home-made breakfast in the hotel's small garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.