We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean is all I care about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 New Britain Ave, Jct of Crooked St & Rte 372, Plainville, CT 06062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plainville
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean is all I care about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Clean hotel, nice staff, overall stay fine, short and sweet! Kids loved the (tiny) pool. A pool is a pool, equates to fun. That's all my bf and I care about! Good location for Lake Compounce, ESPN, and some shopping!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel amenities.

We hope you to see you soon again as we are making changes to our breakfast by starting to offer hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage patties/ links, home fries etc to our current offerings. We will also be having an Irish Pub that will be opening the first quarter of 2013 at the Hotel.

Thank You

Deepak Ninan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    48
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
23
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

But nothing over the top. If you look at any of my other reviews, you'll notice I'm very brand loyal to Marriott. It's because they're quality is usually consistent and I know the minimum I'm going to get. This property was no exception. My expectations were met, but not exceeded. Hotel was clean and quiet, room, beds and decor as expected. The breakfast was the minimum that FI usually provides, again nothing exceptional. Would I stay here again if I come back to the area? Only if the Farmington Marriott rates are significantly higher again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sad to hear that we were only able to meet your minimum expectations. As a Marriott, we always strive to go above and beyond for all our guests. We hope to see you soon again so that we can exceed your expectations ans give you the "Marriott" experience.

We are also making changes to our breakfast by starting to offer hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage patties/ links, home fries etc to our current offerings. We will also be having an Irish Pub that will be opening the first quarter of 2013 at the Hotel.

Thank You

Deepak Ninan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very easy access off the interstate for an overnight stop. Appears to be a new facility. Clean, comfortable room and bed. Helpful staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel

We hope you to see you soon again as we are making changes to our breakfast by starting to offer hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage patties/ links, home fries etc to our current offerings. We will also be having an Irish Pub that will be opening the first quarter of 2013 at the Hotel.

We look forward to serving you and giving you the "Marriott" experience

Thank You

Deepak Ninan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, IL
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, there was a slight mildew odor. It had been raining, but this was the first Fairfield we've encountered with this issue. We had requested a king room on the first floor, but were given one on the 2nd floor. Our check-in clerk was on auto-pilot with lots of people checking in. He asked us what brought us to the area and we answered "a funeral", to which didn't respond. He did tell us about the next morning's breakfast, but not about the nearby cookies & lemonaide, or the elevator's location way down the lobby hallway. After taking the elevator to the 2nd floor, the doors wouldn't open anymore than 2-3 inches. We pushed the emergency button and several seconds later, the doors opened completely. We walked downstairs & informed the desk clerk what had happened. His response: "Why that's never happened before." Our room was located at the end of the hallway next to the stairs & the nearby Interstate. While we didn't hear any stairwell noise, we did hear the outside traffic. The room was clean but among the smallest we've had at a Fairfield Inn because of the intruding stairwell. Our bed was comfortable. Wi-fi & HD TV worked fine. The next morning's breakfast was good with an attentive breakfast server. I'd give this a 3.5 rating.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights with my wife and two kids (9 and 5). We used very few points to stay here, as Marriott considers it a category one. Given that, it was a tremendous deal. It's conveniently located right off I-84, it's very clean, the beds are super comfortable (and they're Queens, not tiny doubles like most hotels), and the free breakfast buffet was more than adequate (and was very well replenished by the staff, btw). The pool is tiny, but we only used it once for a quick dip. My kids didn't care...they were on vacation and in a pool...yay! This ain't the Four Seasons, but it exceeded our expectations.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear that as a Marriott, we were able to exceed your expectations in terms of service and the cleanliness of the facility. It is always our pleasure and honor to serve guests like yourself.

We look forward to your next stay with us, as we are making changes to our breakfast by starting to offer hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage patties/ links, home fries etc to our current offerings. We will also be having an Irish Pub that will be opening the first quarter of 2013 at the Hotel.

Thank You

Deepak Ninan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Needed a one-night stopover on a business trip and this hotel is right off I-84, 10 min west of Hartford. I've been in many Fairfield Inns and this one was new, clean, and comfortable. It had all the new decor and fantastic beds. The AC was quiet and it had the fridge and microwave I had requested. I was greeted very warmly by the staff on check-in. Coffee was available all day in the lobby. I am planning on making this my standard stop-over hotel when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. It is comments like yours that motivate us to be better at what we do, and make us proud of serving our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us as we are making changes to our breakfast by starting to offer hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage patties/ links, home fries etc to our current offerings. We will also be having an Irish Pub that will be opening the first quarter of 2013 at the Hotel.


Thank You

Deepak Ninan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was very nice, very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that I rented a room with two queen beds. There were two queen box springs, however, one of the mattresses was a double (room 107). I asked the clerk to have a manager contact me and they never did. The beds, even the full size, were the most comfortable I have ever slept on at a hotel and I would highly recommed this hotel and look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. Our sincere apologies if a member of management did not get back to you on the size of teh bed.

We will make it a point to look into it and rectify the issue

We look forward to your next stay at our hotel as we are making changes to our breakfast by starting to offer hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage patties/ links, home fries etc to our current offerings. We will also be having an Irish Pub that will be opening the first quarter of 2013 at the Hotel.

Thank You

Deepak Ninan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites

Address: 400 New Britain Ave, Jct of Crooked St & Rte 372, Plainville, CT 06062
Location: United States > Connecticut > Plainville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plainville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites opened November 27, 2009. The hotel offer complimentary breakfast, free wifi, indoor pool, and business center. Come and enjoy our outstanding customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites
Fairfield Hotel Plainville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.