We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room 205” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Plainfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Plainfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Plainfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Pratt Road, Plainfield, CT 06374   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plainfield
Boston
1 review
“Avoid Room 205”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Booked a room for our trip to the Casinos. Got there early in the day around 3:30PM, property was pretty empty. Get to our room all looks OK. Get back around 1:30AM fall asleep and realize our room is right above the Lobby. Right above the Front Door. So everytime someone opens the door we were woken up.

Complained in the morning, just to let the property manager know that the room is great, but the location is horrible and was given a measly 10% off. Not that I was looking for a free night or anything, but you think they would tell you are right above the lobby.

Anyways, you get hat you pay for I guess...

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
31
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

Not a bad place but not great either. The room was well appointed and about average in size. The shower pressure was a bit lacking and for some reason there was not switch for a fan in the bathroom. We would probably stay here again based on it's location while visiting family. There is not that much else in the area. The price was fair.

  • Liked — Clean room, good bed
  • Disliked — Less than helpful staff on very resonable request.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

I booked a room here when I was planning to spend the weekend playing poker at Foxwoods. I live two hours away, so having a hotel close-by was important.

The Holiday Inn Express is about 15 minutes from Mohegan Sun, and about 20 minutes from Foxwoods. They're right off of I-395, and surrounded by fast food franchises, a supermarket, and a CVS, for whatever you might need in a hurry. They also serve the typical continental breakfast fare in the lobby.

I had the "King Suite". Basically, it was a large room with a king-sized very comfortable mattress and a couch that pulled out into a bed, so the room sleeps four comfortably. Everything I saw at the hotel was very clean... great bathroom, really nice room, and a very good thermostat that actually kept the room at the temperature I set.

Next time I'm looking to stay near the casinos (and not pay the $300+/night weekend rates there) I'll be back. I rarely drink alcohol, so the fact that I had to drive after being at the casino wasn't a problem for me... if you book a room here, please don't drink at the casinos and then drive.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Plainfield because of a wedding I was attending at a nearby resort. The building appears to be fairly new and was easily accessible from the highway.
My check-in was very smooth, but the same was not true for the bride. She was booked for a suite, but there was some sort of miscommunication between the front desk and cleaning staff which resulted in her being moved into three different rooms before finally being put into the appropriate suite.
My room was very clean with a king size bed. The A/C worked great, the bathroom was well-lit with oversized towels, and a great showerhead. My check-out was smooth.
The suite in this hotel is well worth the extra $100. Huge kitchen with stainless steel appliances, living room with seating for 6 or 7 people and a huge, bright bedroom.
The hotel also had an indoor pool and continental breakfast. This was a good stay that served our needs.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

Stay here for one night. The front desk clerk is very friendly and accomodating. The room is very clean. There are plenty of clean towels and they are not stingy with toiletries. Breakfast is very good and a staff is there to help with anything.
The hotel is about 20 minutes to Mohegan Sun and Norwich.
Overall, this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

This is just a regular nice hotel, but I give it 5 stars for the great value. We always stay at this hotel when visiting Mohegan Sun. It's only about 20 minutes away and it's so much cheaper than staying at the casino ($80-$120 here vs. $400 to stay at Mohegan on the weekends). I think they also have a casino shuttle service for a fee, but we always drive. The rooms are always clean and are pretty new and they have decent toiletries for a budget hotel. Also, the free breakfast is pretty good, especially the cinnamon rolls. Mostly cereals, pastries, bagels, etc. Good value for the money!

  • Liked — comfortable, clean rooms; close to casino
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

This is to thank Holiday Inn Express and it's manager for returning my room charge. On a recent trip, we had car trouble and could not cancel our room reservation before the 6pm dead line. After explaining our situation, the manager graciously credited my charge card for the unused room. It is nice to know there are good people you can count on when things are out of your control. Thank you Ms. Madden. L.C.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Plainfield

Address: 18 Pratt Road, Plainfield, CT 06374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Plainfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Plainfield, is conveniently located near Foxwoods Resort & Mohegan Sun Casinos and Historic Mystic, CT, in the heart of the Northeast Antiques Capital.Beautiful, new hotel with finest amenities including: Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Exercise Facility, and Business Center for guest convenience. All rooms with FREE high speed Internet access, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron & board. Whirlpool Suites available. State of the Art Meeting Room with Wireless Internet access. Companies nearby include: Lowes Distribution Center, Frito Lay, BST Systems, and Super Wal-Mart. Adjacent to the Plainfield Industrial Park, and direct access to Interstate 395 and Route 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Plainfield Hotel Plainfield
Holiday Inn Plainfield
Plainfield Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Plainfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.