We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Club Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Robinson Club Maldives to your Saves list
Robinson Club Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Funamadua, Villingili 20077   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Robinson Club is a wonderful holiday destination. This was the third island that we have visited - the other two being Lily Beach and Mirihi. Robinson Club is quite similar to Lily Beach in many ways but I would say offers better value for money. And Mirihi is really for couples only and I would not go back there in a hurry as it is too small and very limited in way of facilities. On this trip there were 4 adults and 3 small children.

It feels like a 5 start resort. Specifically the quality of food at the resort was excellent (excluding breakfast which was average). Meals are all buffet style with the exception of the one evening which is 5 courses served. Although the resort was quite full it is a very spacious island and one never has a sense of overcrowding in any way.

The reef snorkelling was easily accessible from beach and excellent - we saw small sharks, morays, and turtles on several occasions. The dive centre was also well managed and quite informal - I did 4 beautiful dives typical of Maldives.

Guest mix was about 60% German and 40% Asian. Very laid back with people keeping mostly to themselves. There were a number of organised events but once again relatively low key. All the staff speak english and service levels are outstanding.

Rooms were extremely large - we stayed in 1317 and 1318 (adjoining family beach bungalow) - with direct access to beach and great snorkelling. Only complaint is that the rooms are very dark but you get used to it and it is shelter from the heat. All beach bungalows have direct access to swimming beaches and it was not obvious to me that there were better or worse rooms - however it may be wise to avoid rooms to close to the staff quarters and generator as I imagine that this could be a littel irritating.

Facilities included a beautiful pool plus kiddies pool, main bar area, pool table, "library", beach bar, table tennis, Fully equipped gym with daily programme, and a lovely spa which was highly rated by the guests. lots of watersports and big game fishing also an option with good success from what we saw at the dinner table.

Weather in September is variable and we had a mix of sun cloud wind and occasional shower - but nothing that stopped us enjoying the trip. The break from the sun was a relief as heat can be intense. Waether forecasts are meaningless by and large so do not get too excited by them!

The only other important consideration is that its a long way to go. We had a very efficient transfer from Male International to Male Domestic airport and then caught a turboprop with flying time of about an hour to Kadedhdhoo airstrip. After that a 30 minute transfer by speedboat. Realistically from either Europe or Johannesburg via Dubai you are looking at up to 24 hours door to door.So be aware. Probably would not go for less than 10 days. But its worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    20
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It takes time time to get there, as it is far from the Male capital, but it worth. The place is quiet, intimate and romantic, a piece from heaven. The stuff are friendly and cuisine excellent and diversified.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I cannot find a word to describe how wonderful and impressive the hotel is. This is the place you will think of coming every day and once you step on the island, you will never want to leave.

The island is quite far from Male airport. Though a little time consuming, the distance brings cleaner water and more fish around. Tortoise and baby sharks are very common in the house reefs surrounding the island. No wonder this island is almost the best place of snorkeling in Maldives.

Rooms are very very spacious. The bed is so comfortable that once I get on it I fall asleep.

The all inclusive buffet is fabulous. Just take as much as you can. They are so delicious and never get empty.

I will rate this island extra five-star, though the price is not that expensive. Great place!

Room Tip: The wind and wave will be gentler at north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It is a little bit far away and takes more time to get there. However, it has really great service and facility. The stuff there are from different country and culture. They are very friendly and fun. Everynight they will help to cook and serve the in the buffet. The food are great, there are many different choices and style. Wine is already included in the package. So every meal we finish one bottle...Gain weight though :)

Room Tip: Beach or water bungalow are both great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

It was our second holiday on unbelievable Maldivian island Robinson club hotel.
Last time me and my husband were here for 10 nights less than a year ago. And we liked this island so much that decided to repeat it at the first opportunity. It turned to be not so easy, because hotel was fully booked for some months ahead. Nevertheless we did it! This time we were here for 12 nights. In the result it turned to be too short for us!
So my review is based on some kind of comparative analysis how the island changed for last 9 months.
Our plan landed in Ibrahim Nasir international airport about 9 o’clock in the morning. We were immediately met by a hotel representative like at the last time. He led us to VIP-lounge where we could get relaxed and wait our domestic flight. This lounge was renovated a little and became even more comfortable. Our flight was scheduled on 10.30, but was delayed for an hour. So now we are in the sky flying to Hovadhoo atoll and what we can see through little windows us makes us a bit anxious. There is an almost eight-eights cloud under us! And its in the driest season! Our concerns were confirmed after landing. The sky was really overcast.
But stop! We go for the positive and do not pay attention to such details!
After baggage claim, we, along with 20 other tourists were set in 2 boats which chased a race with each other towards the island.
Here was everything ready for our reception! Champagne, fruit, smiling staff (some of welcoming ones were familiar us from the last visit) greeted us like old friends. Here was our old friend Azzam, who this time made sure that we were satisfied with our holiday for 200%! :-) Accommodation was rapid, despite the fact that we arrived about an hour of the day, we did not have to wait up to three!
The last time we lived in a Garden Villa, this time in a Beach Villa, so that we had not duplex (house, divided into two halves), but a detached house connected to the neighboring house passage, which certainly gave us more privacy. The location of these houses, as by far the best - close to the restaurant, a bar, a pool and a Reception area. In short, once again thanks to Azzam! :-) The bedroom in this room was slightly smaller than in the Garden Villa, but there was a separate dressing room and bathroom what was three times greater than in the Garden Villa!
In the room were a king size bed with bedside tables, daybed, TV table, television itself. Tip: If you want to watch movies in your native language, take them on a flash drive, which can be connected to the TV. After a decorative partition was a table with large mirror, cabinets and refrigerator. A set of coffee-tea was here.
We really love our huge bathroom, part of which was under the open sky! The bathroom had a shower, toilet, bidet, two toilet tables with sinks, a jacuzzi (under cover) and a rain shower! In addition we had a mini-garden, where grew some low bushes, 2 banana and a coconut palm trees!))) I still remember the noise of their leaves when the wind blew! And the wind, by the way, blew! and it was very strong! On the day of our arrival in heaven was just a haze of clouds, but the real storm began the next day. Strong wind started blowing from the sea, the sky was overcast, and it was raining for several times a day: sometimes small one, sometimes a downpour with thunder. Large puddles formed on the paths. The clouds had gone in a week, once the sun came out, and it continued to grill us mercilessly until the day of our departure, when the sky was once again covered with clouds. And it is considered to be the driest season for Maldives!
Returning to our number, I want to remind some visitors, that if you book a room on the island, you must understand that unwelcome guests - local residents can visit you sometimes. People who get used to be in an artificial environment (the city) is often forget, what is to live among wildlife. You should understand that when a hotel was built on a desert island, it means that people invade the world of animals, and not animals in the human world. So if you see ants or geckos in your bathroom just do not pay any attention to them. They will not touch you! Remember, this is their home, and you come to stay with him only a couple of weeks! :-) And if you couldn’t tolerate small creatures, you should book a water villa.
We only booked it for one night, just to try and find out what it is. Sure, Lagoon villa is also worthy of special description. This type of accommodation is truly the most luxurious of the rooms in the hotel. And so it happened ;-) that our Villa was next to the presidential suite with a gorgeous view of the sea. And though all the water villas have direct access to the sea and to the reef, but our hut was closest to the most spectacular part of the reef! This room is a detached house on stilts. Inside it’s a large bedroom with panoramic windows, the same set of furniture, and the differences are in the fact that here is a four poster bed and part of the floor is glazed, so you can watch the sea life right out of your room! Bathroom is not so big, but there is a huge terrace with sun beds, chairs, table, jacuzzi under a canopy, and some kind of a spherical sunbed, which is called coconut bed, and we called it a chicken egg because of it’s white and looks like an egg! Although now I think it would be better to name it a dinosaur egg for its size!))))))
So. What has changed on the island:
1.
Flies had almost disappeared on the island! The hotel management has revised policy of the removal of garbage bags. Now they are stored at a technical island, and not inside the stuff area, like it was before, and they remove them more often.
2. Mosquitoes were seen! :-) But that was associated exclusively with the rainy weather and the inability to spray the bushes and trees with mosquito reagents. As soon as the sky cleared, the entire island was immediately processed.
3. All the dead trees were cut off, many new plants and shrubs were planted. Every day the gardeners collect all fallen leaves, which was then removed from the island in the big plastic bags. Thanks to their efforts, the island became a much more well-groomed and beautiful. But still, in my opinion, this is not all that could be done. I felt lack of tropical flowers on the island, especially orchids and Plumeria (or frangipani tree). In our climatic conditions, winter is a dull black and white picture, so when you go from winter to summer it’s such necessary to see around us as much color flowers as possible! During our stay new gardener-designer was taken, so, I would like to appeal directly to him: "Please, put as much Plumerias on the island as possible!" A few trees were seen by us near Das EDEL and Dunya SPA. But they are still too young to bloom in full force. On the island we met a German couple. They lived all 12 days in a water villa. And to a certain point they liked it very much. But when they came to visit us and see our bathroom, they were even a little upset and said that their bathroom is not so beautiful! In this connection, Dear Management of the hotel, I have good advice for you. Place a large pot with lotuses or bonsai near to the water villa door and a couple of pots on the terrace, and you will make your guests who stayed at the Water Villa even happier! By the way, on the island we did not notice any of the lotuses! :-( They could be so beautiful on the photographs of Chinese tourists! :-))))))
4. Unfortunately, the paths soured in some places on the island. Bulk sand disappeared, and sometimes it was uncomfortable to walk barefoot.
5. More sea-food was served in the main restaurant. In one form or another, it’s offered almost every lunch and dinner. This is certainly a plus, because almost everyone loves seafood! For us just was not clear a desire of cooks to add chili to many foods, including salads. Words “no spicy” does not mean that, for someone it may seem food is not spicy, but means the fact that it does not COMPLETELY contain any pepper! We are opposed to leave behind or dispose food, but sometimes just had to do it because it was spicy. Therefore, if it’s possible, please, put chili sauce on the counter next to the distribution of black olives and garlic, to give the visitor an opportunity to make a choice, if he needed it or not.
In general, we have very positive experience about the restaurant! You could always find something tasty. Once we saw 146-pound blue marlin was brought to the kitchen! He was left for 20 minutes in full view of tourists, so that everyone had the opportunity to be photographed with it. We also liked the desserts! Thanks to the cook-confectioner! In the end, thanks to the efforts of all the cooks we were both added a couple of kgs in less than two weeks, because just couldn’t resist it! :-)
6. We were unpleasantly surprised by higher prices for night fishing from $ 35 (without taxes), it rose to $ 50. And now to prepare caught fish is not free as before, but for $ 10 per person. Of course, its not a big money if to compare the whole cost of the trip, but still unpleasant. At the same time, everything else remained the same: the same boats, same 2 hours of fishing, absence of guarantee that you will catch anything today, sometimes rusty hooks. Even the fishing line on reels remained the same elongated, and with knots! Dear owners of the Deep and Breeze, please show more respect for the tourists and update the tackle! Good fishing line, such as, Berkley Super Strong Trilene Big Game Fishing Line 1740 yd 100 lb costs about $ 55. And it’s enough for about 30 reels! Or better yet, replace the line on a braid that will not tangle during pulling a fish. Berkley Big Game Hollow Braid 130 lb 500yds saltwater costs about 140 dollars and it will be enough for 10 reels. But the braid is more durable and does not stretch. At night fishing you can catch right from corals at 30-40 meters depth. And if you uncoil the 40 meter line, it becomes almost like a rubber band, and its almost impossible to jerk a fish. And if you use a braid, which is hardly stretches, you will be able to sharply jerk a fish, and eventually the number of caught fishes will increase. If most tourists want to repeat the fishing, all (tourists and owners) will be happy in the end!
At this time we were on a night fishing trip four times. The first two times were ok, third time was frankly waste of money, because almost no tourists caught anything. But for the fourth time luck smiled for us! On the way to the fishing spot (on the house reef fishing is prohibited) we were allowed to unravel the line at 50 meters and drop it into the water with artificial bait on the end. It turned out some sort of trolling! (A small remark. If you see a flock of seagulls over the sea, this means that in the sea close to the surface tuna chasing fish fry, which these gulls pick up). Well, our captain saw a flock of seagulls and turn the boat right through it. Once the bait was among the tunas, we felt a sharp jerk line. By the fact the tuna was fighting, we thought it was at least a meter in length! :-) In fact it was not very big, but this fact does not spoil the impression of it and did not make us less respect for it! :-))) Later this tuna was cut for baits, because there was not enough of them. Again, fishing fish turns into a feeding fish due to the fact that the line stretches and you can’t jerk. This evening we caught a few snappers and even reef shark! Which, however, only seemed a little out of the water, bite the line off and disappeared in the sea. For the remaining six tourists fishing was successful too and the two of them also pulled out the sharks, which were released by a crew member after a photo session, as Shark fishing banned in the Maldives.
We really wanted to try the Big game fishing (trolling). But, unfortunately, we could not find two more companions because of bad weather, and to go just two of us and pay for 4 hours $ 650 (again with no guarantee of catching a really worthy fish), we did not want to.

So what remains the same - it is a wonderful house reef, white sand, friendly and responsive staff. Thanks to everyone who made our holiday really special and unforgettable!
It may seem that we have left a negative impression about the rest, it is not so! We were more than pleased with our vacation and wish to extend it for another week! All the disadvantages of the hotel are primarily for the management, in the hope that they will listen to us and make vacation for future travelers a truly perfect! How it happened after our previous review, when the situation with the removal of garbage has changed in a positive way.
We will definitely return to this island again! Thanks to everyone who was able to finish reading this long review to the end! :-) And I hope you will find some useful information in it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It takes a bit of effort to get to the Robinson Club, namely an extra flight from Male to the local airport at Kandedhoo (which takes about 50 minutes) followed by a boat trip to the island, but believe me its worth it.

On arrival we were greeted by the Robinson Club staff at the jetty with sparkelling wine and a warm welcome. Check in was easy followed by a nice lunch at the main restaurant overlooking the lagoon, while our room was prepared. We were lucky and upgraded from a Garden villa to a Beach villa which gave direct beach access, the garden villas were in a nice location around island apart from 4 or 5 which were near the watersports centre on an overgrown section which wouldn't have been my choice.

The rooms were excellent and kept in spotless condition, nice lounge area and a riased platform up to a very comfortable bed, deck outside and a lovely outside bathroom with x2 showers (inside and outside rain shower) hot tub and double vanity. The lighting in the rooms could be better, but not a big issue.

The island is kept in pristine condition by the gardeners and beach staff.

The main restaraunt serves breakfast, lunch and dinner to a very good standard, it is buffet service but don't let that put you off, there are individual cooking stations where the chefs prepare the meals freshly for you. There is a 5 course Gala dinner on a friday evening which is waiter service which is a nice change. Das Edel is another restaraunt option at a cost. Drinks are free flowing in the restaurant during meals, with wine by the bottle.

The house reef on the island is the highlight for me, in excellent condition which I hope the island management maintain. They are making efforts in educating guests to help with this. Beautiful beach all the way around the island with a good selection of sunbeds and the pool area is an option as well.

We had a wonderful stay on the island and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I can't really say if it the Maldives that's amazing or it is that Robinson Club is amazing. However, safe to say that my family had a great time. Reservations are best through Agoda or booking.com or in my case through Richard at "Simply Maldives" based in the UK as booking through Robinson Club directly was a nightmare, particularly for my accommodation, the lagoon suite which is more like a 2 bedroom house on the water. For those looking for a family accommodation, this suite was astonishing and there are really no pictures that do it justice. There is a huge private pool as well as two outdoor showers, two jacuzzi's, a massive deck looking out into the water, a dining table, bar and twin masters. The only downside is that it is sticks out far into the lagoon which although private, was pounded with wind at night and with rain. The walk to meals can be a bit tiresome after several days. However, just steps away is the best snorkeling around the island. Meals are included which takes away the stress of the otherwise pricey meals elsewhere. Perhaps the meals are not exactly "gourmet" but certainly met my family's needs and beer/wine is included. The staff is uniformly friendly and seem happy to be there. I would carefully plan your travels as we arrived into Male at around 1-2 pm and had to wait several hours to catch our island hopper. Though we left Dubai on a 9:40 flight, we did not settle into our room until nearly 8 PM.

Were it not for the cost or time to travel, I would go there every month.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robinson Club Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson Club Maldives

Address: Funamadua, Villingili 20077
Location: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Villingili
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Robinson Club Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Robinson Club Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Club Maldives Hotel Villingili
Robinson Club Maldives Villingili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Club Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.