We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Club Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Robinson Club Maldives to your Saves list
Robinson Club Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Funamadua, Villingili 20077   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

After a very long journey arrived at RC and what a pretty island it is, staff welcomed us with a glass of sparkling wine and freshly prepared fruit, the welcome was a bit rushed be never the less very nice.
We was taken to reception by Sereena were we checked in and got our room key, the ladies are given a pair of flip flops with robinson on them which is a nice touch, we was staying in a garden villa no 1424 which was a pleasant surprise as it had a lovely view and we thought we would be in the middle of the island, but the downside was no access to the ocean to cool off and know where to sun on your sun bed as they were under trees, so we asked if we could have our sun beds moved onto the beach and after a couple of days we got sorted and settled, there are now some beds on the beaches that the garden villa people can use these have no numbers on them!, we had a great spot right next to one of the channels to the reef, just up from the arrivals jetty so if your going just look for the two sun beds next to a bin with no numbers on (brill spot), word of advise though if you want your own beds outside your room then go for a beach villa, we would definitely book a beach villa if we went back.
If you like a really good view of the ocean from your decking then beach villas no 1215 to 1213 are fantastic with no vegetation in front.
Reef is fantastic and can snorkel the whole way round the island but in parts its a fare way out from the beach so maybe do it in stages, but the arrival jetty side it is right next to the beach.
Food is amazing and so much to chose from the sweets are to die for.
The waiters are fantastic nothing is to much trouble and so so friendly, a big thankyou to Wadde and a waiter who's name i can't spell but it began with Thor (you know who you are) who gave us the most amazing tables in the restaurant every night what lovely men, also Azeem who we called smiler, and everyone else who served us only two english on the island (a Big thankyou).
Entertainment was somewhat different to what we have been use to in the maldives but didn't find it intrusive at all, they have a live band on the beach a couple of nights a week called vodoo and they play chill out music and a bit of reggie, also have a disco night where everyone tends to have a dance one night a week to let there hair down, we didn't take part but many did, not really my thing in the maldives but like i said not really intrusive to others.
Most quests were german and a few chinese and japanese and then just me and hubby, there had not been any other english for a couple or three months but it did not bother us at all still had a fab time and the island has a lovely atmosphere.
At sun set they have sundowner drinks at the beach and have great bean bags and seats which is very romantic but the best place to see the full sun set is from the pool area as the water villas block the view a little.
The restaurant is in a fantastic position with the most amazing views also the pool area and is lovely to have a dip in after the beach.
The only negative thing i have to say is unlike every other island we have visited you did not see or hear the manager of the island at all, he never made his self know to the quests which i think is a real shame as most managers tend to walk round and chat with the quests and make sure there alright but only the quest relations and other robinson staff did this of which we could not fault.
If your going to this island soon or in the near future you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    20
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The place is seriously crowded.Some of beach villas even do not have private beach umbrella-
so you have to share it with your neighbors.On the beach the average distance between
beach chairs/umbrellas is 5-6 m,you are forced to listen what happens on your neighbors
place and to pray that there will be no screaming kids.
Villas /bungalows very dark(in fact you have to use electricity all day long while inside with aging furniture and extremely uncomfortable veranda chairs.
However the worst part came when we had to change rooms.This change was forced onto
us because of some hickup between Agoda and Robinson and we had to agree to room change.The local management tried to arrange this room change into full checkout-checkin
procedure ie leave at 12.00 and come back 14.30.
It was an extensive argument during which I had to point out several times that we have paid in full and we have merely agreed to room change and not to be kicked out of room for 2.5 hours .After several calls and long discussion they finally arranged a direct change of rooms without this ridiculous wait.
Such attitude is something what one would not be expecting from 1000 usd a night establishment.
Housekeeping was another disaster and we repeatedly had ask to clean the room properly.
Food is ok and house reef really nice and local staff very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just had time for 5 days to go to this amazing resort and it started already at Male at the airport with a warm welcome from a guide of the robinson staff. after welcoming us and bringing us to the vip lounge he took care of everything. he even took the time to leed us to male and explain us everything about the city, its history and the culture. once back at the airport we took the flight to another island where we continued with a speedboat to the actual island where we were reserved very warmly by a whole bunch of staff.
a girl called laura welcomed us and took care of us the whole time we were there. she just had this sixt sense what somebody could like and need and was always present with her help and her lovely smile. but she wasnt the only person. people like osman, kerstin or viraj took great pleasure in pleasing our needs whatever they were. the whole atmosphere there is very nice and very outgoing without beeing pushy.
me and my wife had a great time. we first staid at a garden suite and paid an upgrade to a waterbungalow which just took our breath away...a lot of details topped it..
there is a big offer of watersport you can do and aya was always there with a smile and good mood teaching us stuff we could do.
we loved the experience and will try toget back as soon as possible...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

After a long trip down to the southern atolls, we finaly arrived at Robinson Club late at night...After a quick and impersonal greeting we were conducted to our villa where we found out that the bed had not been made...This was solved 45mns later...Food is overall ok, but as it is a free seating, it is sometimes difficult to find a seat. Service was ok-ish, table wine was warm and tasted cheap, the Manager of the hotel walk around but had not much to say..
Barman does not know his cocktails and prices are extremely high for the value...
Bell boy lost our suitcase on departure, we had to wait over 30mns...Overall, very average experience, not to be renewed in such beautiful paradise...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Robinson Club Maldives was probably the nicest place i have visted in my whole life!
I was volunterring at a local island so we got to visit for really cheap and i cant comment on value.
I spent most of my time in the pool - it was big and clean and deep and i loved it.
That said, I also went snorkelling, which is a must do in the maldives, there are soooo many fish and colourful coral to see, maybe even a turtle or reef shark!
We went on the banana behind the boat and had the BEST time - do this for sure!!!
The food was AMAZING!!!!! yum yum yum yum yum yum.
And the staff are all so friendly!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just ended our great stay at this fab resort. The service was top notch from the airport transfer all the way to the grounds crew. When we arrived in Male we were greated by Robinson staff dressed in blue shirts (they could not be missed). They quickly brought us to the waiting lounge where there were unlimited drinks and snacks. The tickets for the transfers were taken care of by the staff, so the only thing we had to do was to relax and wait for our flight. This lounge is shared with other resorts so it may get crowded during busy times but we were able to get seats so no problems here. The lounge had 2 computer stations and wifi was available. Check in at the resort was effcient with agents providing a brief overview before arriving at our very spacious garden villa. As posted pictures demonstrate, the washrooms are outdoor with 2 showers, jaccuzi tub, toilet, budday, but only one sink. Unfortunately, we did not use the tub as there seem to be a bird or bat that enjoyed flying over the tub every night (making a mess). There were some wood planks that were starting to get worn but it appeared that they are regularly changed when needed as there were some new ones noted. Some tiles were loose in the washroom but posed no problems. The king size bed was firm but still was comfortable, the pillows were a bit soft. There was a flat screen tv with a sleeper couch. There were many switches for lights, fan but were all functioning. There was a cabinet/closet to hang cloths with a room safe. The air con was controlled with a remote which was convienent. The front patio was a good size with a table and 2 chairs. As this is a resort with full board the main buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner was included. The breakfast had a good selection of freshly squeezed juices, coffees and teas. There were the standard English, Asian foods but did not change. For lunch the hot items changed daily but the salad, breads, drinks were the same. For dinner there were different theme nights. The gala dinner was a 5 course dinner that was served to us. The desserts changed daily. Overall, the food was good for an all inclusive. Everyone had genuine smiles throughout our stay. Anything needed from fresh towels to more tea was quickly attended to. The wine selection was good in Canada these wines had an estimated price point of $15. The beach was very nice and was not crowded at all. Un-numbered beach loungers were available for garden villas but make sure you check under the mattress as there could be numbers there that are reserved for the beach villas. Don't worry there were plenty of loungers and it was never an issue to find one. The reef was alive and was not affected by the bleaching. We saw turtles and sharks but the early morning and late day was the best time to see more fish. The staff at the dive/water sport centre were great. The prices were reasonable even for the Maldives. The staff did appear to serve any of my needs. Went to a nice gilli and saw lots of fish and lots of colorful coral. On the way to the gilli we also saw some daulfins. Infact we also saw some swim by the beach one evening. Overall, we had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there for 7 days and had a great time. Amazing food and great friendly atmosphere overall. Bungalows are very spacious and have a wonderful beach just infront of it.
We loved it and definately will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robinson Club Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson Club Maldives

Address: Funamadua, Villingili 20077
Location: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Villingili
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villingili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Robinson Club Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Robinson Club Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Club Maldives Hotel Villingili
Robinson Club Maldives Villingili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Club Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.