We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Needs Improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gabrielle Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gabrielle Restaurant
Post rd., Orange, CT
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 71 restaurants in Orange
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Customer Service Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to Gabrielle's for dinner last weekend. This wasn't our first time, but it's been several years since we were there. We had our daughter with us who wanted nothing but a plain chicken cutlet. I asked the waitress if it would be possible and she assured us it was, and served my daughter a plain, fried chicken cutlet with a small side of pasta with butter. When the check arrived we immediately noticed that we were charged $18.95 for my daughter's "dinner". When I questioned it, I was told that the manager said to charge her for a full Chicken Parmigiana dinner. i reminded the waitress that my daughter only had the chicken cutlet with no sauce, no cheese, no salad etc. The waitress was very embarrased and said she would talk to the manager. She returned to tell us that the manager refused to make any adjustment to the check. It was obvious that the manager was sending a very clear message....he didn't care if he had our business or not. I would have liked to go back to try some of their other dishes, but I have no intention of giving my business to someone who doesn't want it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    5
    4
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Local, ok, if you are here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This seemed like it would be a find but it was an average place not worth going out of your way but ok if here. The service was neighborhood average with several instances of asking multiple times for a few basics. The salads were refrigerator cold and two of our four dinners were mostly cool. Prices are average and portions large. Noise level fairly high. Friendly staff. Parking is easy. One dinner salad particularly good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I always enjoy eating here, whether we order entrees or just appetizers and pizza; it is always delicious! I will agree with other reviewers, that the service is slow...but at least the food makes up for it. I always look forward to going here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven County, CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good Food ---- Slooooow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Gabrielle's has been around forever (we are locals). They serve up a large menu from pizza to expensive entrees. There is easy parking and the place is nicely decorated. There is a separate bar. The drinks were of good size and strength. The food was very good---the portions were huge. Fried calamari, Caesar salad, eggdrop/spinach soup were very good. The linguini with fresh clams was strangely bland...but the clams were absolutely fresh. Everything was served at the proper temperature. Good bread..and you can ask for a plate of olive oil for dipping---otherwise you got hard pats of butter. I asked for a few anchovies on the side of our Caesar salad---no problem. My only complaint is that the service was VERY slow. It's a little on the expensive side---some of the entrees ran up to $27-28...but the pasta dishes (easily enough for two) were mostly under $20.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Gnocchi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The most amazing gnocchi you'll ever try. A very welcoming environment and great place to bring your family to eat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabrielle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gabrielle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabrielle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.