We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the casual traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Essex Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good for the casual traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Located right off I-95 and U.S. 1 on the central Connecticut coast, this chain hotel is absolutely fine for the casual traveler - room was large, bed comfortable, bathroom just right and well-equipped. Breakfast was advertised as continental but was full, including making waffles. Staff was friendly and helpful, wifi in room and free computer in lobby, large heated indoor pool.

Room Tip: away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for a great response. We continure to inprove our hotel with some renovations this winter. Thanks for staying with us.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    70
    38
    18
    26
See reviews for
85
61
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford Ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay. Customer Service, Restaurant Service and Pool were great. Breakfast was included and was a full breakfast, Rooms were clean and spacious.

Def will spend a week during the summer and a mini vacation next October!

Room Tip: Stayed in 3rd floor no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank You for the great response. We hope to see you again.


Thank You
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Comfort Inn in Old Saybrook was pretty good. The beds were very comfortable and the room was extremely clean. The room was huge - two king beds. I would stay there again. Only problem is the hotel was kind of costly for a Comfort Inn. But, it did include breakfast which is always good. We had a bit of a problem at check in. Our room wasn't ready so we had to wait. It wouldn't have been such a huge deal, but a really big group came in right after us so the line was really long. We had to wait until all those folks were checked in before we got our room. A bit of inconvenience but what can you do. Also, at checkout, the front desk clerk was on the phone with her boss when we were checking out. She was complaining about another guest which I thought was rude. She should have put the manager on hold to take care of us. But, other than those two things, the room was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the great response. We hope to see you soon.



Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Everything about our stay in this Inn was perfect. Very pleasant lady welcomed us at reception and gave us the necessary information. Huge bedroom - two large double beds, microwave, kettle etc etc. Very good sized indoor pool and patio outside with chairs.Breakfast included &was made pleasant by ahelpful lady who was there to assist;included how to use the waffle maker!!)
Would not hesitate to recommend this Comfort Inn. Old Saybrook and area quite delightful.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on high floor -there was no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I wanted to thank you for the great response. We continue to make improvements with the hotel. We hope to see you again.


Sincerely
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This Comfort inn has been renovated in the last several years and is in great shape.
The staff from the hotel are very friendly and helpfull. They serve a full breakfast
in the morning and the beakfast ladies are very helpful and courteous. The hotel is
in a great location for Old Saybrook, Old Lyme, and New London. It has a small
restaurant and bar attached but it is a separate operation. The food there is just
bar food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We wanted to thank you for the great response. We continue to make improvements and hope to see you again.


Sincerely
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all we almost had to cancel room, we had a death in family. Asked for proof, who does that? Cruel! Rooms appear clean but saw a roach and flushed it down toilet, should have saved it because they didn't believe us! Senior discount is pathetic! Way too expensive for what you get!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for contacting me in regards to your recent experience with the Comfort Inn of Old Saybrook. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a less than exceptional encounter with Comfort Inn.

Comfort Inn takes great pride in delivering quality service, and I am sorry that you did not receive the service that you deserve.

Please contact me with your reservation information so we can discuss your issue.

Sincerely
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good Points: Accessible to interstate as well as shoreline towns, room size decent, staff at front desk (Julie and Sanjay (sp) outstanding and very helpful .. breakfast staff you couldn't ask for nicer people - particularly Linda and Lauren ..

Not so Good Points: Updating is definitely needed at this hotel. The cover of the a/c heater unit was falling off and more likely than not to be on the floor, the hair dryer housing was falling out from the wall but dryer still worked .. maids were unable to speak English and on multiple occasions during a week long stay just barged in .. no knocking .. no calling out .. just came on in .. they backed out immediately but I ended up having to keep the dead bolt thing on whenever I was in the room .. tub didn't drain for hours after showering ..

Unacceptable IMHO: Management seems to be kind of lax here .. even at check out .. when asked 'how was your stay' it was superficial and disinterested in reality of issues during the stay .. the breakfast area has great staff .. not so great selection of anything to eat, particularly in comparison to other hotel offerings. The fruit was almost 'gone by' .. the doughnuts/pasty certainly not fresh .. the cookies at the front desk were fresher and more tasty than the actual breakfast food offered by this hotel. There aren't any ramps at door entrances to roll luggage in easily .. you have to jump the curb to get to door .. and if you're lucky your pass key is coded corrrectly so you don't have to go around to the front lobby. There is a definite 'stench' of smokers ..

Apparently the head managers work only during the day .. possibly two .. not sure .. but if you stay here you need to catch them when they are there .. the main manager was overheard making negative remarks about workers in their presence .. is unpresentable/sloppy (shirt untucked etc) and could probably use a stay there as a secret shopper to see what it's really like ..

Overall: Location is great .. price isn't too bad considering the area .. and you get what you pay for .. not a whole lot ;o(

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking to avoid the odors and make sure before you accept the room it's all in work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsayci, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for contacting me in regards to your recent experience with the Comfort Inn of Old Saybrook. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a less than exceptional encounter with Comfort Inn.

Comfort Inn takes great pride in delivering quality service, and I am sorry that you did not receive the service that you deserve. However I am not aware of your complaint/issues.

Please contact me with your reservation information so we can discuss.

Sincerely
Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Saybrook
0.5 mi away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#5 of 8 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 8 in Old Saybrook
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
13.4 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel
Madison Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Madison
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Old Saybrook
Super 8 Old Saybrook
#3 of 8 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 100 Essex Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® hotel, with newly renovated rooms, breakfast area,Pool and lobby, is conveniently located within 25 miles of the USS Nautilus at the Submarine Force Museum, the Connecticut River Museum, Camelot Cruises, Gillette Castle State Park, the Mohegan Sun casino and the Mystic Aquarium & Institute For Exploration. Yale University, Foxwoods Casino and the University of Connecticut are less than one hour's drive from this Old Saybrook, CT hotel. Old Saybrook is one of Connecticut's most beautiful shoreline communities. Several beaches are nearby. There are a variety of restaurants located in the surrounding area. The hotel's on site restaurant, Comfort Cafe, offers great food and fun, with happy hour from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and karaoke and live entertainment Friday and Saturday nights.Hotel amenities and features include:Free continental breakfast Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Indoor heated saltwater pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Old Saybrook
Comfort Inn Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.