We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Saybrook Point Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Old Saybrook
Middlebury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our 5th visit to Saybrook Point and we stayed at the new Three Stories which has been totally renovated. It is beautiful with inviting common rooms on the first floor and basement (which has a great billiards table and gorgeous bar) as well as a lovely rooftop sun deck. The staff was excellent and we felt like we were the only and most important guests. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    86
    33
    23
    13
See reviews for
77
202
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here only one night, but enjoyed it very much. The rooms were large, well-appointed, and the bathroom was outstanding, with a separate makeup mirrored counter. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The gym is small but seems to have everything necessary, and Regina, the staff member present, was very knowledgeable. The spa was nice and my sisters enjoyed their services. The restaurant, where we had breakfast, was very good (although the beverages were ridiculously overpriced; the entrees seemed reasonable though). A definite thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

How I wish that we had had more time to spend here. The resort is in a perfect location overlooking the private marina. The hotel atmosphere was warm and relaxed, and the staff were first class. From check-in to check- out, we had no complaints about the people we encountered. Everyone had a cheerful disposition and enthusiasm for the resort. Our room overlooked the marina, and I would suggest that this is well worth the extra cost. We enjoyed time on the balcony looking at the super moon, and with a cup of coffee the following morning. There was the added bonus of a seating area in the bedroom with a fireplace, which we did not use, as it was 85 degrees outside!
We had dinner and breakfast in Fresh Salt and were not disappointed. The evening menu was varied and had a good selection for meat and fish lovers. We had breakfast outdoors, and again the menu was wide and there was something for everyone.
Coffee was available in the lobby first thing in the morning.
The hotel has a courtesy car and someone will take you in to town if you do not want to drive, and this is included in the cost of your stay. There are also bikes available. We did not use the spa or pools, but they were quiet.
There is a small mini golf facility across the street for people with children, not owned by the hotel. It was popular with families and well kept with snacks on sale.
All in all a lovely stay. Only one improvement opportunity - the AC in our room was a little noisy.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a whim I booked a short trip to Saybrook Inn and we could not be more pleased with our experience there. I actually booked the dates through Groupon, which made it even nicer since we saved money on the deluxe king room. It was a big room with a nice bathroom too. Everything was very clean which is the first thing I inspect every time we travel in a hotel. The staff was so courteous which is something I noticed as soon as we arrived. Everyone said good morning or just said "hello/ hi" to us every time they saw us walking around the hotel or pool area.

I would also like to commend the staff working at their restaurant, Fresh Salt - also an excellent experience along with the delicious dinner and breakfasts we had there.

Overall it was an excellent time for my husband and me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there for Sunday brunch and it was excellent. The raw bar with clams, oysters and shrimp was worth the price alone. The pasta station was great, had shrimp Fra Diavlo. Prime rib was excellent too. The place is right on the water with awesome views. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The inn is absolutely beautiful. The view of the water is very calming. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The only drawback was that our room over looked the patio area and there was a wedding so there was no privacy on the balcony. In addition the wedding booked the sitting area on top of the outside bar and as paying guests we could not sit there. I was very disappointed especially when no one from the wedding even went up there. If you choose to go there make sure you specify that you would like privacy.

Room Tip: For privacy ask not to face the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're so happy that we could help you get out of the city and relax, Trisha. Thanks for the support here on Yelp. Next time you need some relaxation, keep us in mind.

Best,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our way from NYC home to Boston - we really wanted one more night somewhere to relax and boy did we find it! It was the most pleasant surprise and I am sure we will visit again. The staff was amazing from Brandon at the front desk who made us feel incredibly welcome to the wonderful restaurant "Fresh Salt" where we enjoyed a delicious, perfectly cooked dinner... We stayed in the new building (three Stories) and it was beautiful, comfortable and relaxing with lots of different areas to stretch out, relax and watch the boats & the water. The next morning we had massages at the spa - it was wonderful - each of us came away super relaxed - they really have a great setup with every amenity you could ask for. I just wish we had a couple more days to enjoy it. Fantastic, un-pretentious and lovely Inn in a gorgeous setting - would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's so nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of a few of our ammonites, and I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Brandon. Please know that we sincerely appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon!

All my best,
Pauline Ackles, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.